8 Days Until Christmas…

Last weekend we had some friends over for a casual get together…I made meatloaf and mashed potatoes…and for dessert a chocolate pudding pie. It was all about comfort food and frankly, budget. These foods werevery easy on the wallet…I think I probally spent less than $20 on the entire meal for 6 people. Sadly, everyone ate it all though..no leftovers!

I don’t have photos of the meatloaf or mashed pototes because we had guests over when I took them out of the oven and I felt a little silly about photographing the food before letting them chow down. However, I did take a few photos as I made the pie in the morning.

Here it is…I’d rolled the freshly made pie dough out…

And here it is ready to blind bake:

Here’ a close up shot of the chocolate pudding before I poured it into the baked shell:

It was very, very good. And frankly easy and innexpensive to make. Next time though, I might just skip the crust and serve the pudding…it was fabulous! 

I didn’t get a shot of it all done with the whipped cream but it actually came out looking just like Deb’s did on her site (honestly), so if you follow the link to check the recipe, you’ll see her (far better than mine) photographs.

And some gratiutiuous pug shot of Popo. It’s blurry but I still like it.

~ by Nevis on December 16, 2009.

9 Responses to “8 Days Until Christmas…”

  1. Funny enough I am actually planning on making that pie for christmas to take out to my mom’s! It is Deb’s or PW’s chcolate pie that i was looking at. 🙂

  2. Pie crust? You are already more advanced than I am.

  3. I like the PW’s recipe but it has raw eggs in it and it kinda needed a standing KitchenAide mixer. I am vaugely squeemish about the raw eggs and I don’t have a mixer like that. So I went with Deb’s and it was DELISH! So quick, easy and cheap. I will totally make it again just for the pudding!

  4. Mmmmm I still need to make some Christmas cookies. That may be my project tomorrow. I loves the gratuitous pug shot. Way cute!

  5. I love the pictures and watching your life makes me feel as though I’m there..

  6. I just made my first pay a few weeks ago. I made apple pie from scratch though I’m surprised I didn’t make pudding pie it sounds delicious! I need to learn to cook more things.

    Popo is too cute!

  7. You can never go wrong with a gratuitous pug shot.

  8. Sounds yummy!

  9. The chocolate pudding pie looks delicious!
    I can’t believe it’s almost Christmas!
    Hope you are having a great weekend!

    -Dana & Penny

Leave a Reply

 
