Something wicked this way comes!

How is everyone doing? Only 3 days until Halloween! Things are kind of crazy around the Manicdote household because we’re having a big Halloween Bash on Saturday so we’re in the midst of cleaning/ decorating/ cooking, etc. That’s pretty much all that I’ve been doing. Well, and World of Warcraft.

I had lots of grandiose ideas for decorating and cooking…lots of handmade decorations I envisioned after reading Martha Stewarts Halloween magazine. I had ambitions plans for the house and I can safely say I’ve done none of them. *LOL* Yup, very true. Ran out of time and energy, therefor, we purchased a few decorations and I had some from previous years, but its mostly going to be a few simple things. Its the people that make the party, right?

The one thing that hasn’t been scaled back, its the food. I’m still going to be making a lot of food because I’ll enjoy doing it and who will care that we don’t have all kinds of fancy-ass creative decorations if the food is great, the drinks are flowing and the people are fun. At least thats the idea. At first I was going to make more chi-chi things like an Asparagus and Gruyere Tart, but, then, I realized that there are a lot of people who don’t like Asparagus. (Crazy, I know). I also had plans to make Ina’s Roasted Shrimp Cocktail but then I saw the prices of shrimp at the grocery store.

So my menu has been altered and modified from my champagne tastes…to fit my beer budget. I’ll be making Chili, Bacon-corn mini muffins, Pigs in a blanket (albeit fancier smoked sausages in puff pastry), bacon-wrapped jalepeno poppers, a hot artichoke dip and a tray of crudites, cheese & fruit. I also found this recipe for Mini Italian Club Sandwiches and I may or may not make it.

The party should be fun…we’ve got Rockband (regular and new Beatles Rockband) set up for one room, and then the new DJ Hero set up on the other xbox in another room. I know that will be fun…especially once a few people get drinks in them! We bought special black vodka for the occasion! YUM!

I can’t wait to get our party on! I have to admit I am vaugely nervous that we’ll have gone through all this work and bought all this food…and what if no one shows up! Ooof! Wish us luck!!!

~ by Nevis on October 28, 2009.

16 Responses to “Something wicked this way comes!”

  1. Such is life that we run out of time ; ) However, you’ve prioritized in a great way! Friends and Food and Fun! Plus a few drinks tossed in for good measure. I’m sure you’ll all have a really good time!

  2. Don’t worry they will come, free food and drinks what’s not to come for..And Good Company too.. You will have a great great time for sure..and so will all your guests..

  3. Hahaha I know how it goes.. damn beer budget!
    My girlfriend goes all out for her parties and her food but then again I think she is secretly Martha Stewart! Damn her. lol

  4. hi allison!

    oh your party is going to be fantastic!

    i wish we lived closer! i want to come!

  5. Sounds fun! I’m sure your party will be a great success! Happy Halloween!

  6. People will love it! I’m intrigued about the black vodka?!? Where does one find such a thing?

  7. Black martini? Cool!

    The only thing I’m decorating this year is Dennis’s blog header …

  8. it is definitely the people that make the party!! hope you have a great time!! can’t wait to see the pictures =)

    Lilo

  9. It sounds like it’s adding up to be a really cool party. Definitely take some photos of your creations!

  10. I think everyone has a little part of them that irrationally wonders if no one is going to show up to their party, haha… I’m sure it will be great! Heck, with hot artichoke dip, black vodka and Rockband, I’d so be there! 🙂

  11. i am sure that by now your party was a huge success. i know i would be there, that food list sounds great!
    hugs,
    puglette
    :o)

  12. I love those black drinks!!! I would come just for that!

  13. freaking awesome! Black drinks eh, you are my twin…….

  14. Wow your place looks great!
    Very festive. Hope you had a
    great Halloween!

    Dana & Penny

  15. So how was your party? From all the preparation, should have been a rocking place!

  16. Does the black vodka turn your teeth black? Does it taste like ouzo (licorice)?

Leave a Reply

 
