Boozy Banana Bread

banana bread

Okay, so my first new recipe didn’t turn out so hot. Well, it’s a funny thing actually. We had these old bananas. You know the kind…they were completely black…and I wouldn’t let Terry toss them because I had plans for them. Banana bread. I had recently read the recipe for “Jacked-Up Banna Bread” on Smitten Kitchen’s website and I knew I had to try it. It looked so good and stupidly easy. Also it would make a great first entry for my vow to cook one new recipe a week.

And it started out great. It smelled great. Bananas, brown sugar, butter, nutmeg, rum (I didn’t have bourbon) – the batter smelled absolutly delightful. I also threw some walnuts in because it sounded like a good combo. I poured it into my loaf pan and set my timer for the smallest amount of  cooktime it suggested (45 minutes). Then I went and watched some TV. When the buzzer went off, I checked on the bread and it looked…really dark. Like burnt. I was so dissapointed! Dejected, I went and pouted on the couch.

Later, Terry encouraged me to try the banana bread anyways, and I curious what it tasted like, even if it was burnt. Well, it actually tasted great. Not sure why mine cooked up so dark when Deb’s cooked up all golden. Was it because I used spiced rum instead of her bourbon? Was it because I used a tad more sugar than she did (she used 3/4 c. and I used 1 c.)? Or because I used a stoneware loaf pan instead of her metal one? Not sure, but still, it did taste good…if you ignore the vaugely unappetizingly black exterior. I think I would definatly try it again, but I may check the oven sooner…with hopes to pull it out sooner, before it gets quite as black. Also, I know this makes me sound like a lush, but I’d put more rum in it. I couldn’t taste the 1 tablespoon of rum at all! And I really wanted it to be like…boozy tasting.

I remember as a kid eating some delightful rum cake at a Christmas-time craft show that my Mother took me to. It was this yearly event that was quite popular in the town where I grew up in San Diego. She would let me call out of school as “sick” and we volunteered to work at the craft show. I have very fond memories of it. Partly because I got to call out of school but mostly because it made me feel very adult and it was something special that my Mom and I did together. Well, this lady always brought rum cake. It was so delicious and vaugely naughty…eating this cake that was competely boozy. It was like…wet with rum. And I’m always trying recreate that taste, you know? Anyways, nextime this banana bread is getting more booze!

Here’s the recipe,  should you want to try it. It was very tasty.

Jacked-Up Banana Bread
Adapted from Deb who adapted it from Simply Recipes

No need for mixer for this recipe – nice! I mixed the whole thing by hand with a rubber spatula.

3 to 4 ripe bananas, smashed
1/3 c. melted butter (salted)
3/4 c. – 1 c. light brown sugar (I used 1 c. but probally should have used 3/4 c. since mine turned out so dark).
1 egg, beaten
1 t. vanilla
1 T. rum or bourbon (option, I suppose)
1 t. baking soda
pinch of salt
1 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. nutmeg
pinch of ground cloves
1/2 c. walnuts (optional)
1 1/2 c. flour

Preheat oven to 350^F. Stir together butter and mashed bananas in large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, vanilla, rum, nuts, and spices. Sprinkle over the baking soda and salt and mix. Then lastly fold in the flour until just mixed. Pour batter into loaf pan and bake until tester comes out clean, about 45 minutes, depending on oven.

Cool on rack then remove from pan, slice and serve.

~ by Nevis on August 10, 2009.

4 Responses to “Boozy Banana Bread”

  1. 1tblspoon of rum isn’t that much at all! lol
    The bread looks great, mine usually turns out somewhat dark as well, so don’t worry!
    Deb from SK is a kitchen goddess lol

    The toy shredding is a stage.. I would start buying the 1$ dog toys at Target for now.. although Indy was never much of a ripper, she just liked to squeak!

  2. Ha ha I love the name! PS. There is no hope for me…even the food network is scared of me! 😉

  3. hi allison!
    oh yum! it looks and sounds like a wonderful weekend at home!

  4. I’m setting aside some bananas to make banana bread. I think I want to try this recipe…got to turn up the volume sometimes! Thanks for sharing =)

Leave a Reply

 
