Linguica Dreams

sausage1

Another vow I’ve made with myself, and, probally of interest only to myself, is to blog more. I mean, I used to post daily. Or almost daily. How did I get out of that habit? I’m fully blaming twitter, because it’s true, and secondly because I’m lazy and it’s easier to blame something else than to do something about it. However, I am going to do something about it and that is…post more often.

I cooked last night. Sort of. I mean, I reheated left over chinese takeout for Terry. He was very happy by this. Nothing makes the man happier than chinese food. Even day-old chinese food.

And I had, received one of the world’s best gifts in the mail. It doesn’t matter that I bought it for myself, and for absolutly no occasion, it’s still a gift because I bought it and it made me very happy. See, I’m 1/4 portugese and all portugese people are born mainlining Massa (a type of sweet bread, not unlike Hawaiian bread) and linguica, which is a spicy-garlicy sausage that some people think is similar to chorizo, but, as different as night and day. Especially from Mexican chorizo.

But that’s all neither here nor there. While Terry had a very respectible dinner of reheated Chinese food, I pretty much had sausage for dinner. I couldn’t help myself. Here in Alabama I’ve been deprived of my birthright for two whole years and I ate an entire package all by myself (Terry, the heathen, does not like Linguica). I started out making some of the sausage in some eggs, but then just picked it out and ate the sausage. Then just the sausage by itself, finally before passing out at night in a sausagefest-induced food coma.

Of course I didn’t stay down. You can’t eat that much sausage and not expect some negitive reactions…but I’ll spare you the details. It’s almost been 24 hours and I’m still full. And still not sick of Linguica. And I’m soooo happy because I’ve got 5 more pounds of sausage in my freezer and I can’t wait to think of wonderful things to do with it.

sausage3

Now scrambled eggs with Linguica isn’t a new dish for me, so it certainly doesn’t qualify for my (see my other vow), but it’s still good eats and it’s so simple it doens’t even need a recipe. You just saute up the Linguica, let cool and drain to take off some of the fat, then slice it into half moon slices, then toss in some scrambling eggs. That’s it. YUM!

Also, while I was cooking dinner, the pugs were particularly adorable, so I snapped a few photos. First of all, can Rukia get any cuter?

sausage2

And here’s Napoleon…he’s our little adventurer. Anytime he’s let free back there he doesn’t sit still for any period of time longer than like, two seconds. He’s constantly sniffing the fence, chasing Ruki, rolling the grass, back at sniffing the fence, digging in the dirt, doing all those things dogs like to do.

sausage5

Yes, aparently Ruki can get cuter. OMG, don’t you just want to eat her up? I can’t figure if she wants in because I’m in here (nice ego, right?), because it’s hot out there (like 95 and humid) or because I’m cooking sausage in here. Yeah, that might be it.

sausage6

~ by Nevis on August 7, 2009.

One Response to “Linguica Dreams”

  1. Mmmm good, as your Momma I love some linguica too, and you poor thing 2 year wait without it to bad so sad, but now you should be at least set for a while, with five pounds in the freezer…Yum..

Leave a Reply

 
