Monkeybread

Had a great weekend, very busy. We’re totally embracing the home-owners thing so did a bunch of little things around the house like hanging paintings, and lots of shopping…Home Depot, Hobby Lobby, World Market, PetCo, Staples, Books-A-Million, Old Navy, etc. Had a lot of fun, actually.

We also went to the Auburn CityFest, which was a lot of fun. We ended up walking the puggies around and looking at all the booths. Bought a few matted photographs from a photographer. And the puggies loved getting out in the sunshine, sitting and listening to music and picnicing.

I made breakfast on sunday morning, my yummy Monkeybread. What I love about this recipe is that it’s quick, cheap (the only thing you have t buy is a can of refrigerator biscuits) easy, and SO versatile in regards to making in large batches. Here, I’m showing a recipe for making it enough for 2 people with (our) appetites, or I suppose 4 people with small appetites.

dsc01589

Monkeybread

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of refrigerator biscuits
  • granulated sugar
  • cinnamon
  • whole nutmeg
  • kosher salt
  • 4 T. brown sugar
  • 4 T. butter

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375^F. Spray the baking dish with Pam for Baking.

dsc01590

2. Prepare the sugar dust: Mix granulated sugar, cinnamon, and freshly grated nutmeg in a small bowl. I like to freshly grate my nutmeg because it really ads a depth…but if you don’t have fresh, you can use storebought. Make as much or little you need depending on how many cans of biscuits you’re using.

dsc01591

3. Cut each biscuits into 6 peices (bite size), then roll in the cinnamon-nutmeg-sugar mix, and place in your baking dish. I’m baking ours in a cast iron skillet, mostly because it’s the best size baking dish for making only enough for 2. But if you’re making 3 cans…a bundt pan would be beautiful.

dsc01592

4. Once all your bread bits are in the baking dish, you can prepare the carmel glaze. In a (recommended) non-stick saucepan, mix 1/4 c. brown sugar, 4 T. Butter and a few pinches of kosher salt. I love a touch of saltiness in my caramel – it’s a great flavor combo. Stir until cohesive and you can start to smell the carmel. Then drizzle over the top of the biscuits.

dsc01596

5. Bake for anywhere between 15-20 minutes (longer if you double/tripple batch…keep an eye on it for when it’s golden on top). Let sit and cool in pan for 5 minutes, then invert on a plate and dig in!

As you can see the carmel sauce drips down and gets all ooey-gooey all over between each of the puffed up peices of biscuit. Isn’t that delicious looking? Look at all that luscious salty-carmel? YUM!

Enjoy!!!

~ by Nevis on April 27, 2009.

11 Responses to “Monkeybread”

  1. hi allison!
    oh what a wonderful weekend! the monkey bread looks good!
    xo

  2. Ok, now I have to make this for my husband. He is always talking about how much he loves monkey bread. I’m not a big sweets in the morning kind of person, but since there is this delicious looking recipe in front of me, it would be a total shame not to indulge him. Right??

  3. Have you tried Paula Deen’s Gorilla Bread? It is Monkey Bread on steriods. We didn’t go to Auburn Cityfest this weekend- we Yard Saled in the morning and Yard Worked in the afternoon. And Angel’s is feast or famine…sometimes I find treasure and other times …nada. But, I love going there and finding inspiration if nothing else. I also like to go to the local Thrift stores: Harvest (next to Angels) , Mission (next to KMart) and Roland’s (on Railroad downtown) !!

  4. I’ve seen Gorilla Bread, and I’m sure it’s absolutly delightful! One of these days I’ll make it…

  5. yummy! i am totally making that next weekend!!
    hugs,
    puglette
    :o)

  6. Don’t you love home-y stuff?? Sure we are only renting but it is so much fun anyways.. 🙂

    OMG I love this stuff!! I usually buy it premade from a bakery but not anymore!!

  7. hi allison!

    of course poley and rukia are coming. no worries about sending pictures!
    xoxox
    emmitt

  8. YUMMO!!!! What time do ya wan tme over for coffee and monkey bread girl????? Give me time to book my flight! LOL

  9. We WUV monkeybread at arr howse! Mommee and daddee won’t share wif us–dey say it mayks us hyper. Boo on dem.

    Wuv,
    Gus and Waldo

  10. Hi, interesting post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for sharing. I’ll definitely be coming back to your site.

  11. I am soooo making monkey bread this weekend! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

 
