Date Night

pirate-terrEvery Friday night, Terry and I go out on a date. I’m not sure how the tradition was born, but for about 1 1/2 years now, it’s how we celebrate the closure of each week, and the beginning of a wonderful weekend. Sometimes it’s a nice restaurant, and sometimes it’s Taco Bell. Nevertheless, we always have a great time because we’re together.

Terry’s favorite kind of food is Chinese, and while I like Chinese food, it isn’t my favorite. Last time we went there, I took a few photos.

Here’s Terry doing his patented ‘crazy-pirate serious face’. Whenever I ask him to pose for a photo, he makes this face. Silly man. Sometimes I don’t even realize he’s made “the face” until I’m reviewing the photos later in the computer.

The restaurant is called “Mandarin House” and it’s actually decorated very nice on the inside. Everything is very asian-themed (with the exception of the “shabby chic” chandeliers which you can see over Terry’s head in that photo. The place has a great atmosphere and yummy chinese food. Actually they also serve Thai and sushi.

Here’s a photo of our Sweet & Sour Chicken (sauce on the side):

pork

Here’s a photo of our Beef Satay…sorry these photos are dark. I’m being totally lazy and not running them through Photoshop to improve them.

satay

Here I am. I don’t know why I look weird in that photo. I look kinda deer in the headlights, which is weird since I had Terry take the photo and this was like the third try. You know, trying to take a photo that somehow makes me loose 30 lbs magically. Didn’t work! Ah well.

smileyalli

Here are what the lights overhead looked like. Kinda cool. We like the place.

dsc01211

Do you and your significant others go out on a weekly “date”? Let me know!

~ by Nevis on January 22, 2009.

14 Responses to “Date Night”

  1. I think it’s great that you and Terry do this! What a nice way to re-connect after a crazy week.

    Hubby and I try to go out on Fridays, but lately he is working too late. 😦

  2. That is sweet, you guys are so lucky to be able to do that.
    Lately our idea of date night is to cook dinner together and then watch movies or some of my shows I had pvr’d during the week that he likes. 🙂

  3. It depends, sometimes we just stay in and watch movies.

  4. It depends, sometimes we just stay in and watch movies.

    That’s sweet that y’all have that tradition

  5. hi allison!
    what a wonderful tradition!
    you and terry are so cool!
    xoxox
    m

  6. Love Terry’s pirate face! I love that y’all do this every week. We would love to do it too, but alas, CSP has a whack schedule.

  7. that is so cool that you have a regular date night! we used to have them a lot more frequently but well…economy and all, not so much. we used to go on weekend trips a lot too…sigh, those were the days!
    hugs,
    puglette
    :o)

  8. We are going to Olive Garden tomorrow night, but it is a double date with Son #3 and his girlfriend! How weird is that?

  9. Not a “date” per se, but we do have our weekly private lesson and dance out at the local Fred Astaire studio. That’s been going on for like eight years now.

  10. Looks like a fun date! We don’t really have a “date night”, but we always end up going out on Friday nights too. It’s fun! Once the baby comes, I guess we’ll try to make it a little bit more official!

  11. What a great tradition. It looks like you had a fun and the food looks yumaliscious too.

  12. Friday night date night is a great idea!!!! You 2 are so cute!!!

  13. I saw that, thanks! 🙂
    I am not sure yet since the hubby comes home on thursday night (he will have been gone for about a week) plus my sister flies out that weekend for 3 months. lol so I will do my bestest to pop on in and see. 😀

  14. Cliff and I have only missed like one or two Friday dates since we married ten years ago and I think it was because I was in the hospital. I love this tradition and we look forward to it all week. Cliff could eat Chinese every Friday but I refuse. 😉
    Very good pic of you.

Leave a Reply

 
