Happy New Year!

manicdotenewyearFireworks are big business here in Alabama (neighboring states do not seem to be able to sell them, they’re illegal) and the Worlds Largest Fireworks Store (so they claim) is a few blocks away. Earlier in the week we had gone and checked the place out (it’s huge, imagine a place the size of CostCo/Sams Club that sells nothing but fireworks!). We picked up a few handfuls of sparklers (they were like $0.49 cents for a box of 8. How cheap is that?

So, on our New Years Eve, we went out to dinner to Logans Roadhouse, then went home to watch the ball drop. A few minutes before midnight we opened our lovely bottle of Champange (actually, it was a delicious Italian sparkling wine) and then proceeded to our deck outfront and lit up our sparklers. It was freezing (in the mid-30’s) but we still had a blast.

Have you made any New Years Resolutions? Part of me resists making them, because they just don’t stick. But I’m really going to try this year.

  1. Eat Healthier/Exercise More/Portion Control
  2. Organize my life. Which means everything from paying bills ON TIME to keeping the kitchen clean, laundry done on a schedule, etc.
  3. Decrease debt instead of increasing it!

Did you make any Resolutions? What are they!?

~ by Nevis on January 5, 2009.

12 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. Happy New Year to y’all!! It’s true that ‘Bama is known for it’s fireworks! LOL!

  2. hi allison!
    what a great post! fireworks are not as popular here in colorado with our fire danger, bu i always think they are so pretty!
    xo
    melissa

  3. Hi! cute picture with the lights. I have the same resolution as your # 1 and # 2. I used to pay bills a month ahead (when money was not an issue) but lately I am falling a little behind. I hate to do laundry, and will always do it a week or so after it was intended to be done.

  4. Hi Al

    Very nice picture. I love how you look with the light of the sparkler.

    Fireworks are so much fun, it’s hard to remember though since they have been outlawed for many many years here in California, I remember them as a kid in the early 6o’s not sure when they were banned here but I think you kids were little with sparklers but I think it has to be close to 25 to 30 yrs since the ban. Fire’s are such a huge problem here, we don’t need something like that to help them along….

    Glad you had fun ringing in the New Year with someone you love.

    Hopefully the Puggies got along okay if there was a lot of noise with fireworks, 4th of July must been fun in Alabama with all the fireworks.

    Love MOM

  5. WHAT A GREAT PICTURE!

  6. That is a great photo! I love sparklers. Even though fireworks are banned here there always seem to be a few around! You should have seen when the chargers won the other night. They were going off all over!

  7. what a sweet photo! happy new year!
    hugs,
    puglette
    :o)

  8. Happy new year to you! I have been out of Alabama for 30 years, and I miss those fireworks laws : )

  9. Happy New Year! My son spent Christmas with his wife’s family in Daphne, Alabama, and I was sorry we didn’t ask him to bring stuff home with him. We love firecrackers and bottle rockets!
    I did make resolutions. The same ones I always make: try to be more organized–in every way. And try to stretch and get more flexible. I do manage to improve organization a wee bit every year, but only because there’s so much room for improvement. : ) But I never do well with the stretching/flexibility stuff. oh well…..!

  10. What an awesome picture . . . how did you guys take that? Did Poley take that shot?

    Hey, I think we passed by the “World’s Largest Fireworks Store” while driving through North Dakota. Come to think of it, we saw another store in South Dakota that claimed to be the “World’s Largest Fireworks Store” also . . .

    Happy New Year!

  11. Fireworks are illegial in Memphis and not sold here so every holiday, people make a run into the next county to buy their fireworks. They are big in Memphis too. Even though it is illegial, the police never do anything about it.
    LOVE the picture, cute idea!
    Number 2 could be the story of my life.

  12. Love the sparkler pic! No resolutions for me. I seem to make them on a weekly basis, then put them off til next week.

Leave a Reply

 
