Russkies know their cookies!

russianteacakeThis weekend Terry and I did a lot of domestic stuff about the house…cleaning, vaccuming, grocery shopping, doing the dishes, etc. Kinda boring, nothing terribly exciting. 

However, I did do some Holiday baking! I baked about 8 batches of cookies. Most notably were my all-time favorite cookie, the Russian Tea Cake

I’m sure you’ve had this cookie…it’s a typical holiday favorite…although it goes by a lot of different names. Russian Tea Cakes, Mexican Wedding Cakes, Sand Tarts, Snowballs, etc…but whatever you call them, I call them delicious! Here’s my favorite recipe, which is actually by Emril Lagasse:

Russian Tea Cakes

  • 1 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sifted confectioners’ sugar, plus more for rolling cookies 
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup finely chopped pecans or walnuts
  • Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

    Cream butter in a large mixing bowl. Add the vanilla then gradually add the 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar, beating until light and fluffy. Sift the flour, measure, then sift again with the salt. Add gradually to the butter mixture. Add the pecans and mix well.

    Shape the dough into 1-inch balls and place 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets. Flatten slightly using the bottom of a glass, then bake for 20 minutes, or until edges are very lightly browned. Remove the cookies from the baking sheets and roll in powdered sugar while still hot. Cool on wire racks and roll cookies again in powdered sugar before serving.

    Once they are completely cooled, cookies may be stored in airtight containers for up to 1 week.

    …What’s YOUR favorite Holiday Cookie?

    ~ by Nevis on December 22, 2008.

    18 Responses to “Russkies know their cookies!”

    1. hi allsion!
      oh what a wonderful weekend! your cookies are wonderful!
      i bet the pugs got some powdered sugar on them!
      xo
      m & e

    2. We love those cookies too, but we had to scale back on cookies this year since we had less time than other years. Our Christmas party took a lot of time!

    3. Oh, ginger cookies are always really good to me around the holidays. Ginger just smells like Christmas to me! Those cookies you made are really good as well…I’ve always known them as Danish wedding cookies. LOL! We’ve almost got all the countries covered!

    4. I like rum balls and decorated ginger bread cookies. The hubby is all about the shortbread. 🙂

      Those look very yummy!
      So I reread what I wrote and i am having a dumb monday.. i don’t get it. lol

    5. RUSSIAN TEA CAKES! Mom loves these. Of course, the trick is not to make them so dry that they stick to the roof of your mouth. Mom is sure you don’t do that. But if you want to make sure, mom will be happy to test them for you.

      Roxy

    6. My Mommy had those at her wedding, as it’s tradition to make them for a spanish bride. I think that the tradition spread to the south because my Daddy’s family made her them as well. At the reception, there was about ten plates of “wedding cookies” or “Russian tea cakes”! My Daddy’s favorite cookies:”Forgotten Cookies”, have you ever had those? Also called “8 hour Cookies”?
      Hugs & Snugs
      Eduardo the Snuggle Puggle

    7. Oh hahaha yep! Just ask Indy about her sweaters!! It is killing her to have to wear them right now, but the snow is over her head!!

    8. Where I’m from those cookies are called Wedding Cookies. Yours look deliciously yummy… wish I had one right now.

    9. NO! Not another squirrel in my guestbook! YIKES!

      Those cookies are yuuuumy! I haven’t baked at all. I’ll cook Christmas dinner which will include ham, dressing and gravy, sweet potatos (made with a really great recipe), and must have green bean cassarole, fruit salad etc.

      Rukia sure looks cute in her Christmas garb!

      I want to see Valkyrie, I hadn’t heard about a problem with Tom being in it.

      Your AC/DC concert sounds like you had a great time, and front row seats! You can see even if everyone else is up jumping around! Great.

      Sharon

    10. Waw! new recipe for me!!!
      And HAPPY CHRISTMAS!!!!!!!!

    11. My favorite: Ginger snaps! Mmmmm!

    12. I like eating these cookies (my mom makes them under the ‘Mexican Wedding Cake’ label), but I’ve never made them for some unknown reason. I’m cookied out this season, but I will have to try this next year…or the next time I have visitors from Russia.

      My favorite Christmas cookie is the old-fashioned iced sugar cookie.

    13. Gingerbread men is my fave but those look ‘to die for’. They look like they would almost melt in your mouth!!

    14. Those sound good! (Minus the nuts, since I am allergic.)
      My favourite Christmas cookies are shortbreads!

    15. oh yum! thank you for sharing the recipe…those are my favorite cookies!! my sister makes them, last year she sent them and her rum balls. delicious!
      hugs,
      puglette
      :o)

    16. The peanut butter buckeyes have our vote!

      We just wanted to wish you guys a VERY Merry Christmas and hope you enjoy the next few days as much as possible!

      BIG tummy rubs to Rukia and Poley!

      Love,
      S-Dog and his peeps

    17. Thanks for the recipe! It sounds so easy, I may even try making them.

      Happy New Year!

    18. I needed this for my class project, thx:D

    Leave a Reply

         
