Marked for Shopping

Sorry it’s been a few days since I’ve updated but life has a way of interrupting. Well, I shouldn’t exactly blame life. I’m blaming a series of books in particular. I had plans. I really did. Cleaning, exercise, scrapbooking, you know…normal life stuff. But then I found these books and they kind of took over my life until I finished the series. Well, not finished. But I have to wait until the next one comes out next March.

It’s called the “House of Night” series and it’s kind of like a cross between Harry Potter and Twilight. But I think it’s actually better than Twilight because I never really thought that the Twilight series was ever that well written. The series is about vampires and the first one is called “Marked”. If you liked either of those book series, I highly recommend these books to you. There are four of them out so far, and be prepared to loose yourself into that world.

Not much else is going on. Terry is getting better slowly. It’s been about 2 weeks now and he’s mostly healed although his voice is still rough and he breaks down into fits of coughing a occasionally. Poor guy! 

Also for the past few months all the fall fashion previews have been coming out in the magazines but I haven’t actually been doing any shopping because it was still so hot. But it was 40 degrees the other morning as I left for work, and now I’m gearing up for fall/winter shopping. I’m all about purple, grey, black and pops of pink, I think. I definately need a new transitional winter jacket. I need something more put-together looking than the black hoodie I’ve been wearing…

~ by Nevis on October 22, 2008.

18 Responses to “Marked for Shopping”

  1. HOW did you know I was looking for another series to read so I can continue to procrastinate…? HOW I ask you?
    Damn you. This isn’t going to help my Org Theory grade AT ALL.

  2. love the outfit. too cute. I can’t wait for it to get a fall chill out here. I want to wear my turtlenecks and boots.

  3. Reading is always a good thing to me.
    Cute outfit.
    Glad terry’s better.

  4. Is that the series about the girl going into the special boarding school? I read the back of it before but I didn’t get it at the time… hmm.. I need some new books, I am rereading the eragon series since I just bought the last book, brisinger. 🙂
    I love those shoes!! I have a few purple tops from last year.. i need a winter coat that is casual and not my big blue puffy one!

  5. oooh, I love the outfit! The shoes are so cute and I think even I could stand to wear them…..I’m currently addicted to flip-flops.
    I, too, get very sidetracked with reading. A book is my favorite entertainment and excellent “therapy” for regrouping from a hard day.

  6. Oh man more and more reasons for me to go to target tonight!! lol
    I hate feeling stuffed into something, like when I where a sweater under a coat and its a bit too tight, but I don’t mind wearing it in the car.. unless it restricts my movement.

  7. Mommy says she likes that outfit! She is an obsessive reader, kind of like my Daddy & video games! If she starts reading you can’t tear that book out of her hands! (Unless it’s a really horrible book)! How are your pugs?
    Hugs & Snugs
    Eduardo the Snuggle Puggle

  8. Yes! shopping! nice clothes. I have some jackets but always end up wearing the same one during the winter. It is a brown jacket with down feathers and hoody just in case my ears get too cold. I also have hats and scarfs and gloves, I am already taking those to work. In Miami it gets very cold.

  9. How funny, Mom actually bought that book when she finished the Twilight series so that she would have something new to read. She hasn’t started it yet though, she is saving it for her upcoming crusie with Grandma Andrea.
    Those are some sassy purple shoes by the way! Where can Mom get a pair?
    Love,
    Jemima Jones Beck

  10. hi allison!
    oh those books look great! i will have to check them out.

    your fashion picks are too cool! you have great taste!

    xo
    melissa

  11. hello manicdote its dennis the vizsla dog hmm “markd for shopping” wuznt that a famus dokyoomentary moovie starring the well nown zen master steven seagal??? ok bye

  12. oohh, i haven’t read the twilight series b/c i was torn since it was geared towards young adults. but now i want to get this series…i’m heading to amazon.com after this! there’s some show on HBO that comes on sunday nights about vampires that Rob is totally in to…I can’t remember the name of it though. But, if you get HBO you should check it out! I’ve watched one episode and it was pretty good.

  13. the books look good; i’m always on the lookout for fun things to read! i like your shopping pics too!

  14. I’ve not heard of that series but it sounds terrific.

  15. I am passing an award to you. Check it out on my blog!

  16. ah.. now I am gonna have to find that book!

  17. Thanks for the book recommendation! I just finished the Twilight series this weekend so I’m on the prowl for new books. I just bought three books from Chapters today though, so I have to read those first before Tony will let me buy more 😛 I’ll look for these ones in a couple weeks.

  18. I will have to look for that book. I love the purple top!
    Hugs,
    Puglette
    :o)

Leave a Reply

 
