Minestrone Soup for the Bronchitis Soul

As you guys know, Terry has been sick with Bronchitis for the past week and so last night I decided to make him some soup because he’s been feeling especially low. I made for him my go-to Minestrone recipe which I always make when the people around me are sick. It’s hearty, yummy and tastes great even if you’re not sick. I use the basic recipe off Epicurious (Pasta, Sausage & Bean Soup) but I always modify it based on what ingredients I have around the house. The recipe is just a springboard…

Mis en place:

1. Put a little olive oil in dutch oven. Turn to med-high heat. Add sausage, removing from casings and breaking up. After a few minutes, add chopped onion and carrots until sofftened (5 min). Season with salt, pepper, garlic and herbs. 

2. Then add a splash of wine and deglaze pan for a minute. Add in tomatos and their juices, beans, broth. Let simmer for 20 minutes.

3. Add pasta and let simmer an additional 10-15 minutes, until pasta is done.

Serve.

…and here’s a picture of my sous chef who likes to “help” Mama by finding all the baby carrots that just happen to fall on the floor…

~ by Nevis on October 16, 2008.

12 Responses to “Minestrone Soup for the Bronchitis Soul”

  1. Wow Allison! you really take care of Terry. I wish I had my mom around when I am sick. She used to prepare soup for me, too. I am very very spoiled 🙂

  2. Yes, I have two very good sous chefs – they check for fallen food, and lick the entire kitchen floor, just in case there are tiny food particles that are invisible to the human eye.
    Soup looks great!

  3. Mommy normally doesn’t like minestrone soup, but she will make an exception for yours if you want to send some our way!

  4. Canine America is the dog store downtown on 8th Street that sponsors the parade. I asked if any pugs had signed up and when I said “Napoleon and Rukia” – she said that you had! Oh well.. It is for charity -Canine Rescue 911- Last year we got nice beds as door prizes. The dogs get to go store to store and get dog treats. The prizes for best costumes are really good!

  5. Honestly, mom never worries about picking stuff up off the floor because she knows by the time she bends over to get it we have all ready gotten it.

    Roxy

  6. You are so right that a recipe should really just be a starting point. It is so easy to get stuck on terms like “authentic” or “traditional.” Most recipes got their start because they were made from the ingredients that happened to be available. Why should we be any different today?

  7. mmmm…soup. It is that time of year isn’t it! I have been thinking of soup and stews lately. I think it’s chicken stew this weekend.
    Hugs,
    Puglette
    :o)

  8. yea picking things up off the floor is overrated when i have two mini hoovers hanging around. Of course i have to be careful now since indy isn’t supposed to be getting any crumbs. :p
    I have never been a huge fan of ministrone but yours looks pretty yummy. 🙂

  9. Whoa! Thats a lot of ingredients!
    Looks hard!
    Love,
    Jemima Jones Beck

  10. Hi, Nevis – you left a lovely comment over on my site earlier, and I kept trying to email a reply but it bounced and bounced, so I thought I’d do the next best thing and come on over here and comment on your blog while I check it out. Your sous chef is ADORABLE and it sounds like you cook a lot like I do – recipes are jumping off points in Exile, as well.
    Can’t wait to read through your archives and “get to know you” better. (Wait, did that sound stalkery?)

  11. mmmm…looks yummy! I hope he’s feeling better.

  12. That looks and sounds so good. I have a sous chef like that in my house too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
