Tuesday Seriousness

Who can fix America?

Who can fix America?

Okay a few serious things today. I’ve never considered myself a terribly political person. Half the time I don’t even get the jokes on Jon Stewart because I don’t know Wolf Blitzer from Stephanopoulos. As it is I’m just taking their names…I really have no idea who these people are. But this upcoming election, the presidential one that happens in less than 50 days…seems so vital. Important, somehow…much more important than previous elections – possibly because our economy is messed up, healthcare is crazy expensive, the education system is so screwed up and underfunded…there are so many issues out there. It actually really matters who wins.

I don’t consider myself a democrat or a republican.

Our Vice President?

Our Vice President?

I consider myself an “issueian”…I don’t know. Think of something witty to call someone who cares about the issues in a bipartisan manor. And that’s myself. I have a few key issues that are important to me and that decides who I vote for. However, I heard something earlier today that blew me away.

Aparently Palin was headlining a campaign to rid a certain group of books from the libraries in Alaska; she made inquiries with the lead librarian while she was mayor, although nothing came of it. Additionally it seems she wants to start teaching creationism in the classroom, which I’m completely apposed to. I think it’s awesome that a woman is a vice presidential candidate…but I’m not going to vote for her just because she has ovaries. But all this isn’t to say I am in love with Obama. I have issues with his campaign, too. I still don’t know who I’m going to vote for.

Also, lastly, a very important issue close to my heart…it’s that time of year again. As you all may or (may not) know…My brother, Peter, died at 31 years old from Lou Gehrig’s Disease (ALS) in 2005. It is a terrible, horrible, wasting disease. If anyone has any extra money this month…it’s the yearly walk-a-thon that my Dad sponsors (his “Friends of Peter” team) for the local ALS chapter in San Diego.

Here’s his page (click here for “Friends of Peter”). You can donate money if you’d like. But, seriously, no pressure. Honest.

But if you do? Thank-you VERY much.

~ by Nevis on September 16, 2008.

18 Responses to “Tuesday Seriousness”

  1. Isn’t Stephanopoulos a character on Sesame Street? You know, that big thing that only Big Bird can see. No?

    So sorry to hear about your brother. We will be happy to contribute to the walk this year.

  2. Sarah Palin scares the crap out of me. The censorship, wanting to ban ALL abortions (regardless of the circumstance), wanting to teach creationism and abstinence only “sex” education seems to me will set back women (and all Americans) back to the dark ages. I am with you, as much as I would love see a woman in office, I will note vote just for a pair of ovaries.

  3. As a Canadian – I know we don’t have any say as to who you should vote for – but did you know that 66% of canadians would vote for Obama?

    I think Palin was a poor, poor choice for VP and hope that she doesn’t get in to office.

    I’m so sorry to hear that about your brother. I had a friend die of ALS and will contribute.

  4. Palin actually fired the librarian in question for ot fully supporting her efforts to govern. Public outrage got the librarian reinstated.

    http://www.salon.com/opinion/greenwald/2008/09/03/halperin/

  5. I understand your indecision, or at least your having issues with both of the guys running for Prez. All politicians are tainted so you have to go with the one least likely to poison the whole country.

    Oh – and thanks so much for introducing me to Impulsive Buy. Most of the things make me gag but I love reading it!

  6. I’m an Obama pug– I’ll admit it. I’ll also admit that I’ve been fascinated by the Palin choice and think that strategically it was one of the most brilliant by a politician in decades. It took a candidacy that was keeping pace but slowly slipping into one that energized its base and got TONS of free publicity (which, I will admit, was one-sided before). A gamble, sure: but when the cards are against you, you’ve got to bluff.

    But that’s all this is: a political bluff. Just my opinion.

    Good for you for voting!!

  7. I can’t vote in your election and I think I would like to because of what Michelle above said. Palin scares me. She scares the pants off me… especially the fact that she is so close to being the President. – Sidenote, did you watch the SNL skit about her and Hilary??? Too funny!
    It’s funny I am more interested in the American election then I am in the Canadian one that happens in October.

    I am sorry about your brother.

  8. hi allison
    oh i am so sorry for your loss. i just made a donation to your parent’s walk.
    emmitt and i send all of our love to your family.

  9. Allison, I’m sorry for your loss, too. I hope your dad’s walk is hugely successful!

    Regarding our elections, I love them! I never love the candidates though. This will be the 10th presidential election I’ve voted in and what I always try to do is kind of detach my emotions and consider who is the most likely to do the best with what I consider the MOST important issues we’re facing. There’s always something I hate about every candidate, but if you’re gonna vote, you’re gonna have to deal with those parts of a candidate, too.

  10. Hi Allison, I am sorry to read about your brother as well. We have made a donation to your parent’s walk.

    I never vote a straight ticket, I always try to vote for the person I think will do the best job, and I don’t like to debate or argue about it. Everyone has their own opinion and we are all free to vote on our opinion. Who knows, I may just vote for Tuffy and Rusty 2008!

  11. Hi there! We are very sorry for your loss. I don’t know what I would do if I lost my sister (auntie). I would be devastated. Please accept our sincerest condolences.
    As for Palin, creationism and book banning are just the tip of the iceberg regarding Sarah Palin. Go to http://mudflats.wordpress.com/
    and read all about it. It is actually disgraceful what the McCain camp is doing to people in Alaska over Troopergate. As for Palin, she scared the bejeebers out of me with her arrogant and ignorant view of world politics. I am afraid we would be fighting everyone if she rose to power.

    Roxy’s mom

  12. I am so sorry about your brother babe. *hugs*

  13. I am sorry to hear the sad news. I will donate next week to support the walk (I can’t walk… I live to far away)

  14. So sorry about your brother. 😦
    I had a dear friend with MD so I know some about it.

    I am a very moderate democrat but I am not happy with either candidate.

    I posted the tamale pie recipe on my blog just for you. 🙂

  15. Hi Ms. Manicdote,
    Thanks for posting my and Rusty’s button in your sidebar!!
    Barklove,
    Tuffy

  16. Oooh I will have to look at that, thanks!

  17. Our condolences also, about your brother. One of Mommy’s receptionist’s husband has Lou Gehrig’s disease, and he is at the point where he cannot use his arms and legs. I think they are feeding him through a straw. One of the cool things is that they just bought him a computer that works through his eyes! Some doo-hickey thing follows his eyes around the screen, and when he wants to click on something (like a mousepad for us), he blinks. At least there is some benefit to advancing technology, right?

    Politics is a touchy subject in our household . . . Daddy is very pro-Obama; Mommy is not so enthusiastic about the stances of either candidate, so she is at a loss right now.

  18. Oh I agree, ALS is such a horrible disease. A dear friend of mine died from it this Spring.

Leave a Reply

 
