08-08-08: Special or just another Day?

2008 Summer Olympics

2008 Summer Olympics

What is luck? Does it even exist? Can amputated rabbits feet be lucky? Certainly not for ol’ Peter Cottontail. What about horseshoes? Or four leaf clovers? Once, I remember talking to this lady in Las Vegas who was convinced that if she touched the metal on the slot machine that it would know she was there and therefore, not pay out. She used to play with gloves on and push the buttons with the rubber end of a wooden pencil. Can days themselves be lucky?

I remember similar conversations people had about last year’s 07-07-07. Personally, I think it’s all nonsese. Luck is merely something that humanity invented to make it seem like there is some sort of order, a mystical purpose to the way things happen. They say…”that person is unlucky!” or they’ve “got all the luck”. But what does it mean? Anything? Or nothing at all…?

Nevertheless, it is just another day. I had to get up, get dressed, go to work. But it is a friday – that always makes me happy! And tonight is the opening ceremony of the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing, China (in case you didn’t know, the Chinese believe that the number 8 is lucky due to the pronounciation of 8 which sounds very much like the pronounciation for the word “luck”). Personally, I love watching the Olympics. I watch everything from the opening to the closing ceremonies, gymnastics, volleyball, swimming, diving, and everything in between. Except the Track and Field stuff which I find rather boring.

What about you? Are you going to watch the Olympics?

~ by Nevis on August 8, 2008.

19 Responses to “08-08-08: Special or just another Day?”

  1. Ooh. Deep.

    Thanks for letting me use the literary idea!

    No watchie Olympics. Dad is boycotting the Olympics in a futile effort to show solidarity with the people of Tibet and to not contribute to glossing over China’s human rights record.

    Now that’s deep. I’ll have to mull that over, making my wrinkles, well… deepen.

  2. hmmm….interesting. I’m pretty sure it’s just another day. It is for me!
    Love Clover xo

  3. Hey crazy! .. I mean Alison! 🙂 lol I think it is the hair color and style.. picky yes i know.

    Yes I will be watching the olympics this year as I personally know 2 people competing, my mom’s neighbor is on the women’s soccer team. And a friend of mine is in men’s swimming. Go Canada!!

    I understand supporting Tibet and boycotting the olympics but for friends competing, I will show them my support.. Beside we get the next olympics here in Vancouver and that will definitly be a whole other kettle of fish!

  4. Hi Allie

    Absoulutely I will be watching the Olympics and you love them cause we watched then when you were growing up, so it stands to reason you would love them as an adult. I understand boycotting because of Tibet but these athletes have worked for years to be able to compete and I am watching to support them, not China, but that is truly only my opinion. I well remember when we did not go to the Olympics in Moscow and it was devastating for the competitors. And has never been forgotten.

    So I will be watching each and every night to cheer on all our boys and girls who have gone to Bejing.

    Mom

  5. I will be glued to the television tonight. I think politics should be set aside, at least for the time being. This is a time where the world’s best athletes gets together to compete in a worldwide event. We should put aside the difference for a brief moment to enjoy other cultures and cheer on. I know I will. And it’s not another day, its history in the making.

  6. Heehee thought you would like that! No I haven’t yet.. I need to get through this book first.. I am on pins and needles waiting for lunch so I can go read some more!
    I went through IMDB site and I change my mind.. the casting is perfect.. it all works… 😀

  7. I think you are absolutely correct…luck is what you make, not what you get.

    I’m so stoked about the Olympics and I’m a huge fan of opening ceremonies. I’m also love all the summer sports…even track and field..wink-wink

  8. We in the Wild Alaskan Mountain Pug household LOVE the Olympics. We don’t care where they are held (I know we are politically autistic), we love the competition and the sportsmanship (usually) that is involved. So, yes, we will be glued to the TV for the next weeks.

  9. I love the Olympics!! I never miss them. I especially love gymnastics but I will watch almost everything.

  10. The guy at our car dealership told us that some Chinese people would envy (and actually want to buy) our license plate just because it has an 8 on it.

    We haven’t gotten into any trouble with that car in years so I guess there may be some truth to this lucky 8 thing after all.

  11. Last night I watched some of the Openning Ceremony. . . . very elaborate. I’m looking forward to seeing some of the gymnastic & swimming competition. . . . I do remember how we would all watch the Gymnastic competition, but not too much Track & Field
    Love,
    Dad
    Dad

  12. I’m so excited for the olympics..the opening ceremony was crazy!
    Hey i should’ve commented on your last post but i was a little late. I just finished the last book in the twilight series and thought it was sooo good minus the whole jacob imprinting thing… I feel like the series took over my life for the past weeks now i don’t know what to start reading next.

    Glad to see you are doing well 🙂 Tomorrow is Perogi’s 1st birthday and i will definitely post afterwards…gotta get back in the swing of things.

  13. I never wach the Olympics, although I might consider it if they add ballroom dancing … 😉

  14. We haven’t watched the Olympics yet, though we probably will. Mom has just been sort of busy renovating the back porch into a sewing area.
    As for luck, as Obi Wan said “In my experience there’s no such thing as luck!”
    Synchronicity, now, that’s a different story.

    Roxy

  15. I saw a bit of the opening ceremony. Amazing! Mostly, I don’t watch it. Sometimes we have it on for background noise and watch it a little.

  16. Hey! PugFest is in Atlanta! I hope y’all can come. That would be so much fun 🙂 Check out details on the SEPRA site (www.rescuepug.com)

  17. I did watch the opening games of the Olympics and LOVED it. Probably won’t watch any of the races, though, since I find it all either boring or to stressful to watch.

  18. I missed the openign ceremonies.. but apparently it was crazy!

    I finished Breaking Dawn and I loved it.
    It made sence, i wasn’t stupid or too corny. Yay! when’s the next one out?? lol

  19. Hi there and thanks for stopping by to check out the Paw-limpics!

    All of the judging has actually already taken place, so unfortunately it is too late to send another entry in. We are just revealing the results day by day. Thanks though!

Leave a Reply

 
