Good luck charm!

Picture this. Hot Saturday afternoon, driving home from the vet’s office. We had taken Ruki in for her latest set of shots and to get her heartworm pills. She got a perfect bill of health and was announced to be in perfect health with a glossy black coat and a sunny disposition. The vet just fell in love with her. She is adorable and only 9 lbs at six months old. She probally won’t get too much bigger.

Well, we were driving home from this appointment, and little Ruki was sitting in Terry’s lap as my car currently doesn’t have air conditioning and we thought it would be cooler for her up in the front seat than in the back of my Honda Element in her crate.

Aparently they do this thing out here in Alabama where they randomly block off roads and check to make sure everyone has a current license/registration/insurance. And my insurance card is currently expired. (Long story, I won’t go into it. I have insurance, I just haven’t put the new card in my glove box). Well I could tell the cop was getting ready to write us up for a ticket when he caught sight of Rukia sitting in Terry’s lap.

He was instantly charmed, reached over to scratch her and then told us to just to remember to put the current one in the car, and let us go with a verbal warning. Hooray!

So we didn’t flirt our way out of a ticket…we pugged our way out of a ticket. Thusly, I have dubbed her my good luck charm.

~ by Nevis on June 10, 2008.

28 Responses to “Good luck charm!”

  1. Ooooh that is awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t want her to overheat officer!

    Yes constant pug kisses everywhere there is skin showing! Gus will lick my legs and feet and arms.. bleh! It’s funnny, I ask for nice kisses and i get a lick or too but every now and then Indy turns her nose up at me! Nope, no kisses for mommy!

  2. Awww How sweet. He couldn’t resist her charms and cuteness factor.

  3. YAY! Glad you could get out of it!!! Oh and the pug photos are due today, well, anytime before I get to work tomorrow AM at 8! Thanks!!!

  4. She is SO cute!

  5. Good job Rukia! Although I must say not a surprise! She is just too adorable!

  6. S-Weet! That was a good job, Rukia. We agree with Sonya. We are not surprised. She is adorable.

    Roxy & Lucky

  7. Well that is awesome. I got pulled over one time about 10 years ago and could not find my insurance card and they were going to give me a ticket for that.

    They can track us from space, but they cant run a program to show, hey we have insurance. *sigh*

  8. Mom’s insurance card is also currently expired. We have lived in dread of getting pulled over for the last two weeks. Like you, We have insurance We just don’t have the new card because blah blah blah long story.
    In answer to your question Mom and I’s trip is going to cost about $1000 total, since we have been camping and eating cooler food the entire time (avoiding hotel costs and restaurant expenses). The one really expensive bit has been the gas – but at least Tabatha gets about 40 MPG.
    We are currently in the middle of a splurge – two nights in a hotel and one day at Disney World.
    Love,
    Jemima Jones Beck

  9. That’s the funniest thing I’ve heard all day. That you pugged your way out of a ticket! Bonus!!! I’m glad you didn’t get one-it sucks! I’m totally guilty of not printing my new insurance cards out for my glove box, so thanks for reminding me (in a story) to get with it. Phew!

    Your pug is absolutely perfect! I love, love, love their faces and would like to have one someday-so much personality. Hugo says “Bonjour”. I think that pugs are one of the oldest breeds, right? Super cool….

    Thanks for visiting today, that was so nice!

  10. That’s got to be the slogan of the year: “I Pugged my way out of it.” Glad you weren’t ticketed. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. OMGosh, what a fun story! Your dog is adorable!

    Thank you for the sweet comments you left on my blog!

  12. That’s hilarious! You need to keep her with you on all your drives ๐Ÿ™‚ My People keep forgetting to put their new insurance card in the car too. They have been forgetting for so long that the newest ones just arrived in the mail, so that makes them like 6 months behind! They do random checks like that in NC too. What a-holes.

  13. Ha! that is a great story! She is a good luck charm!
    I think that should definitely be the theme of her scrapbook page!
    ๐Ÿ™‚ m & e

  14. Praise Allah! Who needs bribery when you’ve got a pug?

  15. I hate those random checks! When we were bringing Wilson home from the breeder we were going a bit too fast and got pulled over. The cop saw tiny baby Wilson and fell in love. Said his wife loves pugs, the whole bit. Needless to say – we didn’t get a ticket! I can’t believe Rukia is only 9 lbs! Henry is 6 months also and is topped out at 16.

  16. Wilson is definitely fixed, I just can’t get over the fact that Henry, who I still consider to be a baby, is old enough to be de-tested!

  17. Hahah poor Rukia.. make sure lil miss tila doesn’t lick something she shouldn’t!

  18. Lex> Too late!

  19. We go to Canada regularly and have the dogs in their crates in the back seats. Whenever the border guards notice them (which isn’t often actually), they go from all serious and business like to mush balls.

  20. Roxy is very tall for a pug. She weighs about 18 pounds. And you can see from the pictures. she is not fat at all. I work very hard to keep her at a very healthy weight. Too many of the pugs at the meet up were grossly overweight and will not live as long as a thinner pug would. Lucky weighs in around 13- 14 pounds, but she is very petite. Quite the opposite from Roxy.

    Mom
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Hmmm?11? My hubby doesn’t do traffic stops any more, but the cute pug trick would totally work on him!!!

  22. hahaha ew….!! Indy is only 10 lbs, very very tiny. while gus is a monster compared to her and very tall compared to most pugs we see. they are both in great shape! lol

  23. That is great! I have to admit that I am much nicer to people when I find out they have pugs…not that I was mean before, but I just instantly “like” them b/c they must be awesome people! And you know what? I’m going to keep it that way! Pug people do rock!

  24. I love it! Pugging your way out of tickets! Go Ruki!

  25. You think that would work with kids instead of a pug?

  26. You can never underestimate the charm factor of a sweet little pug!

    I love it, pugged your way out! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Barklove,
    Rusty

  27. that is hysterical!!!!

  28. That is fanfreakingtastic!

Leave a Reply

 
