Getting Lost with Playstation 3

I recently decided to take the plunge and get a PS3. I held out for a long time, not because of any grand idea of loyalty to Xbox 360 but due to issues over price, game library, and the format war between Blu-Ray and HD DVD. The trifecta of issues prevented me from being able to justify the purchase but now they are no longer an issue.

 The format war ended recently when Toshiba announced they were no longer going to be in the HD DVD market. To those of you who are not into that sort of thing imagine how they had VHS vs. BETA back in the VCR heyday. At any rate the Blu-Ray format won the war and PS3’s actually are the most affordable Blu-Ray player available. I also have a really nice HDTV now so I figured it was time to accentuate it.

 

The cost of the PS3 has come down quite a bit since it was launched. When it first came out the system ran for upwards of about $600. Now you can get one for $400, which is quite a big deal to me. Granted, now you get a smaller hard drive (storage space) but that can be upgraded and I doubt I will use up 40 gigs anytime soon.

 

The last issue baring me from getting a PS3 was the redundancy of the games. Most games come out on both PS3The Logo of Bungie and Xbox 360. This is because there are mainly three types of game developers, First Party, Second Party, and Third Party. First Party Developers are owned by the respective console company.  An example of this would be Bungie being owned by Microsoft up until recently. Next, there are Second party developers which are separate from any console company but, either via contract or partial ownership, only make Current Insomniac Games logo.games for one console. Insomniac Games, who choose to make games only for Playstation, are an example of Second Party Developers. Finally there are Third Party developers. Third Party Deveopers are their own entity and can and do make games for multiple systems. Capcom, Konami, and Electronic Arts being the most well known. They frequently release the same game on both PS3 and Xbox 360.

 The current Capcom logo.The most recent Konami logo.The logo of Electronic Arts

The problem I had was that it took quite a bit of time for the PS3 to build a library of titles that are unique to it that I actually wanted to play. The big deal maker in the end though was Metal Gear Soild 4: Guns of the Patiriots. I have long been a huge Metal Gear fan. It, combined with great games like Uncharted: Drakes’ Fortune, Resistance: Fall of Man and its upcoming sequal, and Rachet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction, made me feel ok about getting it.

 

      

All in all I am really happy with it. I love the way that internet connectivity is wireless out of the box, though at this time the online options are not as integrated as Xbox 360 though they are working on it. My only real compaint is that the Playstation store just does not have enough cool stuff to get. That and I would love to see a Next-Gen version of the Sly Cooper series.

~ by vanredd on June 2, 2008.

14 Responses to “Getting Lost with Playstation 3”

  1. Very interesting…!

  2. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptInsomniac Games, who choose to make games only for Playstation, are an example of Second Party Developers. Finally there are Third Party developers. Third Party Deveopers are their own entity and can and do make games for multiple … […]

  3. […] brunlea wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI held out for a long time, not because of any grand idea of loyalty to Xbox 360 but due to issues over price, game library, and the format war between Blu-Ray and HD DVD. The trifecta of issues prevented me from being able to justify … […]

  4. We have a PS3 and an xbox. we bought them both before the war was over so we could have an hd player and a bluray player. now i guess it doesn’t really matter even though some movies are only hd. although i have to really really like the movie to spend 35$ on it!
    We have a wii too.. and I am so much more a nintendo person!! 🙂

  5. […] vanredd wrote an interesting post today on Getting Lost with Playstation 3. Here’s a quick excerpt: […]

  6. Damn, Snake’s looking old – ergo scarier and tough as nails.

  7. I don’t know… I’m still not feeling the PS3 games catalog. MGS4 of course looks great, but there isn’t really anything else exclusive to the PS3 that would make me buy a new console.

    Of course, if I had a couple extra hundreds lying around, I’d be all over it. Until then, I remain fanatically devoted to the 360… if for no other reason than that I can’t afford not to be.

  8. Guess what? Mom’s birthday was on May 26 and dad got HER a nw camera too! Cool!

  9. I agree Zoyd. My main factor in buying a PS3 was for the Blu-Ray now that the format war is over. Rambo in HD is an awesome thing.

  10. Yes, the Blu-Ray is tempting. Very tempting.

  11. Heck, even on a 720p LCD monitor the Blu-ray movies looks superb. Now, if only Sony would support 16 x 10 displays so I don’t get those black lines.

  12. I waited and now ordered the 80 gig PS3 w/ MGS4.

    I own:
    LOST PLANET
    RATCHET AND CLANK
    CALL OF DUTY 4 [ BEST GAME OUT!]
    HEAVENLY SWORD

    I own a next gen 1080i LCD and I figure if I slow down playing games the PS3 is still the most affordable Bluray player so either way one can’t lose on the purchase.

    Games waiting for:
    RESIDENT EVIL 5
    BLACK 2
    KILLZONE 2
    RESISTANCE 2
    WHEELMAN
    FINAL FANTASY 13
    CALL OF DUTY 5

  13. This blog is simply superb, I assumed I do know a great deal, but I’m so mistaken, like the prior saying the much more you already know, the added you come across out how little you know. Thanks for the info.

  14. Hello, Nice publish. I desire everyone would pay such focus to their placed just like you do. I came acros your website on yahoo when looking for a compartment. I’m sorry for my poor englisch, i’m in the netherlands. All the best from the netherlands!

Leave a Reply

 
