It’s My Life

Jamie OliverWell, over the weekend (May 25th) – I had my birthday. And the few days preeceding it were spent in a frenzy of cleaning up the house for my father’s arrival…and I’m not sure if they were even here 24 hours and certainly only spent maybe 10 minutes at the house. *sigh* Isn’t that always the way it goes?

Nevertheless, I had an awesome, wonderful time on my birthday. And I got tons of birthday loot. First of all, my Mom sent me those gorgeous flours and balloons that were delivered on Saturday. (Pictures posted on that day from my cell phone). Cool! Flowers always make you feel special, don’t you?

And that day Terry gave me two early birthday gifts…some cookbooks that he’d got for me because he knows how much I love to cook and how much I love reading cookbooks. I got a really cool cookbook from Top Chef, and then I got Jamie Oliver’s new coobook called, COOK with Jamie. It’s really, really great. While a lot of what he cooks isn’t exactly to my liking, I really love a lot of what he talks about. A lot of what he’s saying makes sense and I love his sensibility of cooking. It’s really a gorgeous book and I love reading it and drooling over the photos.

I also got a wonderful gift certificate from Amazon.com from my Mom. I’m still trying to figure out how I want to spend it. I know I’m DEFINATLY getting a gorillapod. Those are wicked cool! And maybe one of Rachel Ray’s garbage bowls? I’ve been really wanting one of those. Or possibly a cutting board? The possibilities are endless! Endless, I say!

And without further ado, here are a few pictures taken this weekend with my brand NEW camera. That was my ACTUAL gift from Terry. Given to me with breakfast over coffee on my birthday morning. Is there any better way to wake up than freshly ground coffee, electronics and your man in boxers? (Mom/Dad, cover your eyes at that point!)

Poley, my first subject:

Very Serious Poley

Ruki, who sat oddly patient while I fiddled with the settings. The photo is a little bright…but look at that CLARITY! I’m so impressed with this camera!

Chinese Pug Kebob

The pugs being impatient and wanting out of their crate. Immediately after this photo was snapped they were ordered “off” (to get down off the crate walls) and to “sit”. They’re not allowed up on the sides like that (even though the LOVE to do it). We’re trying to break them of the habit, but I thought I’d include a photo of what we usually see all the time instead of a beautified version of reality. And ignore the poop in the background of the shot in the litterbox. Reality is beautiful, damnit!

Real Life. Real Pugs.

I love, love, LOVE this shot. Ruki is constantly doing this. When not asleep, she is usually walking around on her hind legs. Seriously. I need to get her on Letterman. She’s pretty talented! (Eek! Isn’t it adorable, too?!)

Stupid pet tricks

After my family showed up on Sunday, May 25th, we went off to dinner at Mikata (Japanese Steakhouse) which was a lot of fun. There were 6 of us (always fun with a party) and a lot of people had never been to a place like that so that’s always cool…I hate going out with jaded cynics! And I’m such a goof! I totally forgot to take photos while we were there. Ugh! Anyways, later that night we had a great time hanging out at their hotel drinking beer/wine (and rootbeer for me). We also had a red velvet cake with all 31 candels and after nearly burning the place down we enjoyed a few slices. It was a great night.

The next morning we met up at a local Cracker Barrel restaurant for breakfast. We had a leisurely breakfast then afterwards we sat out on the front porch and chatted while rocking on the rocking chairs that they have for sale outfront. It was fun! Here are a few pictures from that time.

Me, my awesome father (recovered from his surgery! Thank-you for your prayers!) and Terry:

Allison, Dad, Terry

Here’s my cool Uncle Syd, my Dad and Terry. The men in my life. Well, except Poley, but I guess he doens’t count…?

Uncle Syd, Dad, Terry

Here’s a little bit of T & A for your day. Contain yourself.

T & A

I also finally got back to scrapbooking…created this last night. Fun!

103% Evil

~ by Nevis on May 30, 2008.

17 Responses to “It’s My Life”

  1. Sounds like you had a fabulous time on your birthday I wish I was there but I come soon enough. The Pictures do look very good and quite clear, glad you love it as much as you do. The pugs are so cute.. I’m really glad your Dad is doing better.

    Sounds like you have your favorite cake Red Velvet too.

    Happy Birthday all over again

  2. Looks like a great birthday! Your pictures are great, and I love the scrapbook page! I can never come up with creative ideas like you do!

  3. hi allison!
    what a great day! your pictures are wonderful!
    hug the puggies for me!
    🙂 m

  4. poley and ruki are just too cute! i love that little look they have while in their crate…so desperate!

  5. LOVE LOVE LOVE the pics… amazing new camera!!! And I agree with you about Jamie Oliver… I watched his show for the first time today, I like his personality and his feelings about cooking.

    Oh and the corn on the cob… we let them try to grab it so they can get any tiny little bitlets of corn that are left on there, but they sure don’t get to hold them themselves, they’d eat the things whole. They mostly sit there with their mouths on it hoping we’ll let go!!! LOL!

    Glad you had an AMAZING birthday with your whole family!!!

  6. Hi! Your puggies are adorable! What kind of camera did u get? Gorillpods are the best!!!! I love mine. My mom’s b-day was this weekend, too. The 30th. Happy Birthday!

  7. Happy Birthday!

  8. Ahhhh, Ruki is Gorgeously Georgeous.
    luv ‘n’ slobber
    George x

  9. Hi! You are too friggin funny.. i love the T&A too! Haha
    Those pictures of rukia and nappy! Very clear and that is a hell of a stink eye she has!! Yea reality sucks.. the beauty of pctures is much funner! lol
    It sounds like you had a wonderful time for your birthday!

  10. 1. Happy Happy Birthday!
    2. Your pugs are just ridiculously cute. Love the way Rukia sits.
    3. Spill it about the camera for us techno geeks who love that kind of stuff! Gorgeous pics!

  11. T&A – LOL. I love it. Awesome birthday presents! That camera is very nice indeed.

  12. What a wonderful birthday! Thanks for sharing the pics! They made my day! I have something for you at my place:
    http://mercedesrules.wordpress.com/2008/06/02/you-make-my-day-award/

  13. I’m so glad you had a wonderful birthday! And whoa! Your new camera rocks. I’m seriously jealous. I soooo want a new camera…

    Your scrapbook page is wonderful. I’m going to attempt to make a proper scrapbook for my new grand niece (I scrapbook but it’s very simply – more like a blinged up photo album).

  14. What a nice post! Love the pictures. I can’t get enough out of them sweet Puggy faces!!!!!!!!!!

  15. Sounds like you had a really great birthday! Your new camera takes awesome pictures!! Poley and Rukia are looking as cute as ever!

  16. I got ‘Cook With Jamie’ for my birthday too! I love it! It’s an awesome book for learning ABOUT cooking.

  17. I love Jamie Oliver and have for years. He does things so differently.
    I once cleaned for days for my MIL to come stay with us and she ended up going to her other son’s in laws and didn’t even come here. EEEEKKK! Glad you had a good birthday.

Leave a Reply

 
