Happy Mother’s Day (and I’m an idiot)

Well, yesterday was Mother’s Day, and despite the fact that I was cleaning all day yesterday in preperation for guests later in the month (actually less than two weeks away), I fully had intentions to call my Mom and see how her day was going.

And I totally forgot. I feel like such an idiot! Can you believe it? Although it’s not like I forgot the holiday all together. I did send her flowers, chocolate and a handmade card:

Mom\'s Day

However, I still feel horrible about it. I love my mom so much and I can’t believe I couldn’t set aside 10 minutes out of my day to call her. *sigh* Mom, forgive me. You gave birth to an forgetful, procrastinating child. But shes loves you and thinks of you as her best friend. My mother is one cool cat. She is super smart (taught herself how to program VCR and all how to use computer), she’s super creative (has been painting and teaching art for decades), she’s funny, generous, sweet, a great cook, a wonderful mother and my inspiration. One day I want to be a mother just like her.

Mom, I love you.


P.S. No, the puggies didn’t get me anything. Ungrateful wretches.

~ by Nevis on May 12, 2008.

8 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day (and I’m an idiot)”

  1. hi allison
    your mom is lucky to have you and so are your puggies. 🙂
    what a nice post. i know your mom appreciates it. you ar lucky to have such a cool mom!

  2. You are not forgetful just busy and Believe me I know you love me very much.. And the flowers (2 doz roses) are beautiful, and are opening up to be even more beautiful. But not as beautiful as my daughter is. Thanks for all the very lovely sentiments you had to say to me. They mean more to me than a phone call. And I know what you and Terry are doing and I know how important that is for that work to be done, when I have been that kind of busy the last thing I think about is chatting on the phone. Just putting up my feet and vegging.

    I had my Mom”s the moment I got the flowers and the fabulous card you made just for me. So Thank You so Much.. I love you and always will.

  3. Uh, we think your mom is pretty great, and not from what you said about her, but what she said about you. We think you will be a great mom just like her one day.

    Roxy & Lucky

  4. Hi Allison! I didn’t have your email so…of course, I would be honored to be included in your next post! Thanks so much!

    ~L

  5. I’m sure your mom totally understand. I can only hope that when my daughter is your age( she’s 4 now ) that we will have a close and loving mother and daughter relationship. Cute card too

  6. Ahh you’re not an idiot. I didn’t get to call my mom that day either since they went quadding. I see her wednesday for dinner.. I plan to make her card tonight! :p

  7. oh what a cutie! I really love the layout that you’ve scrapped too, it’s gorgeous.

  8. Hello!

    I am contacting you because I am working with the authors of a book about blogs, and I’d like to request permission to use a photograph of yours in this book. Please contact me at matt@wefeelfine.org, and I’d be happy to give you more information about the project. Please paste a link to your blog in the subject field. Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

    Sincerely,

    Matt
    matt@wefeelfine.org

Leave a Reply

 
