Memoirs of a Blogger

Got this meme of Michelle’s blog. I thought it was fun so I totally pulled a Winona Ryder and stole it. It’s called “5 Things” and it’s a variant of one of those chain emails I remember getting years ago at work.

1. What were you doing 5 years ago today?

I was living in Los Angeles and just starting to work as an entertainment underwriter. It was a great job. I really loved it; I hated my boss…but I loved the job. The work was interesting and I really liked most of the brokers I dealt with. And the salary was…grrreat.

2. Name 5 snacks that you love:

  • Puffy Cheetos
  • Roasted, salted almonds
  • Zebra cakes
  • Coffee (I know you drink it, but I drink A LOT of it).
  • Peanut butter melted on toast

3. What are 5 things on your ‘To-Do’ list for today/ Or things you’ve already done today:

  • Cleaned out the litterbox and fed puggies. Little beasts! Oh, I love them.
  • Stopped at Circle K for coffee. Yum…they have this coffee bar and you can get mini-marshmellows. A giant 16oz cup for only $1.28. Beat that, Starbucks!
  • I’ve got a “e-Conference” at 4:00 that takes place online and on phone. Ooo…exciting…I’ll be learning about ratings or something…? I must read through that email before attending…
  • Pick up our pre-ordered copy of Grand Theft Auto IV from Game Stop (This was a demand from the man, Terry…since he’s out of town currently. Aparently I must get it so that he’ll have it when he returns…)
  • Scrapbooking! I’m currently working on a layout regarding Terry’s classroom and being his first year as a teacher. It’s coming along nicely but I got tired last night and ended up just laying on couch watching Fraiser re-runs. I love that show.

4. Name 5 things I would do if I won five million dollars:

  • Pay off credit cards. I know that’s a boring answer, but how awesome would it be to have no debt – no montly payments? Sweet!
  • Buy a house…..one with a beautiful kitchen!
  • Go on a long, long vacation to one of those gorgeous hotels on the beach that I could never normally afford.
  • Quit my job and spend my life managing my finances and making sure it lasts us the rest of our life. I’d probally try writing that “great american novel” that I’ve always wanted to write. Can romance novels be considered a great american novel? Who knows, who cares.
  • Pay someone to clean up after us. I want a full-time made. I need a Rosario to my Karen.

5. Name 5 bad habits you have:

  • Junk food. Oh, how I love thee! My fat ass; oh how I hate thee!
  • Going to bed without brushing teeth. I really need to get better about this, to brush twice a day. Seriously – especially because I absolutly hate going to the dentist (Sorry Bella & Perogi’s dad).
  • Buying the same magazines every month off the newstand. I reallly need to just pick up subscriptions because I’m wasting so much money this way.
  • Procrastination. Need I say more?
  • In arguments…correcting statements and getting hung upon always having to be RIGHT. And having the last word.

6. Name 5 places you’ve lived:

  • Santa Clara, CA (…it’s in the bay area)
  • Rancho Penasquitos, CA (…it’s in San Diego)
  • Woodland Hills, CA (…it’s in Los Angeles)
  • Hollywood, CA
  • Auburn, AL (…near enough to it)

7. Name 5 jobs you’ve had:

  • Call Center for San Diego Blood Bank – I was that person who’d call you and remind you to donate blood again
  • Worked in my mom’s Tole Painting store for years during High School and College
  • Collections Department
  • Entertainment Underwriter (wrote insurance for bands, actors, commercials and movies)
  • Glorified Secretary  (technical term)

And one more meme today…one that I was tagged by two seperate people to do (Two Cute Pugs and Pug Possessed). So I cannot ignore it. Everyone knows you have to do a meme if  you’re tagged. But if you’re tagged by two seperate people? That’s like a double-dog-dare … and you cannot back down from that.

This meme is a “6 Word Memoir” – basically you have to describe your life (thus far) in 6 words. So here is my entry:

6 words about ME!

Painting is by one of my favorite artists, Max Beckmann.

And I tag: Frances, Paul, Melissa, Rusty and Norman. Wow, it was actually rather hard finding people who hadn’t yet done the “6-word-Memoir” meme yet. Of course, if I didn’t tag you but you want to do it – you’re welcome to do it anyways. I love reading them about everyone!

~ by Nevis on April 29, 2008.

11 Responses to “Memoirs of a Blogger”

  1. I worked at a blood bank too! I started off as one of those callers but I really can’t do salesy like jobs and they moved me to receptionist. I have to get the last word in, too. and so does my 8 year old so it makes for great times at the couture household..
    have a great day!

  2. hahaha..still laughing at your winona ryder joke!

  3. Those are great answers to your “5’s” and also the meme. Lucky and I did this Sunday. Then we tagged Melissa & Emmitt and they started the chain that got to you. Mom likes your “5’s” though, so she might do that instead.

    Roxy

  4. Hm.. i may have to pull a winona too.. the sad thing is it took me a bit to catch the joke.. oh dear. 🙂 haha i did a chain email like that while ago… they are fun.

    How goes the puggies? and the empty bed?

  5. Good work on your memes! It was nice to learn a little more about you – my mom loves coffee and pb toast too!
    Love Clover xo

  6. You’ve led a very interesting life. I loved your answers.

  7. I loved reading your “5” answers and your 6-word memoir was great. I’ll have to say that your answer for what 5 things you would do with 5 million dollars was spot on. I loughed reading this, esp. the Winona Rider reference! You have had an interesting time, I bet you met a lot of interesting people as an Entertainment Underwriter.

    Rusty did this one back in March and had a lot of fun trying to think of his 6 words:

    http://chasingsquirrelswithrusty.wordpress.com/2008/03/31/six-word-memoir/

  8. The Winona Ryder joke is cracking me up too.

    Great “5” meme. Peanut butter melted on toast…mmmm…yum…

    I also love how you presented your memoir meme – you clever woman!

    Thanks for playing memoir meme with us!

  9. Good morning!
    i just wanted to wish you a great weekend before i head to CA today. come over and say hi on our blog before next tuesday so we can put your name in the dog bowl!
    🙂 m & e

  10. Sorry, we didn’t know you tagged me for the six-word memoir. My bad (Mommy vehemently denies blame for this, although she is supposed to help me keep up to date with other blogs).

    We loved your “5 Things” answers, although Mommy is kind of cringed at the not brushing your teeth before bed thing . . . We didn’t know you are a California girl!

  11. I don’t forget allll the time, Frances! Yikes! And yes, I’m actually a California girl. I actually just moved to Alabama in October of last year.

Leave a Reply

 
