Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride

Sleeping sexyI’m totally excited. Last night, Terry and I ordered a new laptop for me. My current (5-year old) laptop is dying. It’s been a slow, agonizing death, but it’s time has come. All but one of it’s USB ports are dead. When I want to plug in my iPod or camera…I have to unplug my mouse in order to do so. It’s like a bizzare electronic juggling act. The thing constantly drops my internet signal. It can only run one program at a time. And my latest addiction, World of Warcraft, is completely taxing it’s overworked hard drive. So, for $40 a month, I now have a brand new tricked out Dell XPS laptop. It’s so nice. I cannot wait until I’ve got it!

Oh, and the first picture there today is of both Terry and Napoleon sleeping on the couch. This was back when Poley was a puppy. I had to dive into my archives to find this picture as it was just too adorable. Aren’t they sweet? But you can’t have them! No sugar for you!

That actually reminds me of that terrible new show on Food Network. “Down Home with the Neely’s”…and I have to ask you…who acts like that? They’re such a characture of southern black people. Trust me – people in real life do not act like that. And the woman is constantly kissing the husband and then accusing him of trying to steal her sugar. It’s so insipid! So now Terry and I mock them when we’re in the kitchen. I shake my ass at him and then turn around and accuse him of trying to steal my sugar.

Oh, I also found this hilarious quiz called “An Artist or an Ape?” – where you decide if a painting was painted by a monkey or if it was done by a serious (human) artist. This test further confirms my idea that art is not only in the eye of the beholder, but something anyone can do. So get out there and…do some art! Btw, I scored only an 83% on the quiz…so it’s not as easy to tell as you might think.

Who’s your favorite artist? I have three favorites. Hiroshige, Hockney and Max Beckmann.

And because I know you’re dying of curiosity…I’ve got some new pictures of our current dog-litter situation. It’s working. The dogs are using it and not going on the floor, or their bed. Right now our only issue is that they track litter out of the litterbox in to their crate area. To solve that I think we’re going to get one of those small wet/dry mini vaccums…like a dirt devil or something. Do they still make those? So, without further ado, here are a few pictures of their new crate. And Terry crafted that litter box with his own two hands. We used a dremel tool and cut out the doorway. It works perfect!

First picture you see the gorgeous pug-litterbox; Poley is watching Rukia chow down on dinner.

Pug Pen Uno

Second picture. Um, no…Napoleon is not peeing in that picture. He’s…watering the litter. Yeah…that’s it.

Poley Caught Peeing

And in closing, Terry and I are trying to decide where to go on our summer vacation. We’re trying to decide between Las Vegas or possibly Cancun. Frankly either one would cost about the same. However we would have to find our passports if we want to do Cancun. So our closing shot today is a picture of Terry and I at Disneyland last year. One of my favorite pictures!

It\'s an adorable world!

~ by Nevis on April 24, 2008.

23 Responses to “Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride”

  1. So exciting about the new laptop! You’re going to have so much fun with it!

    I’m also a fan of Max Beckmann and other expressionistic painters..but favorites? I’m not sure…I like so many!

    I vote for Cancun. But that’s just because I like the beach and the snorkeling is fun. Although, you could probably replicate sitting by the beach, sipping frozen margaritas in Vegas! 🙂

  2. Oooooh new laptop! I am currently waiting for mine to die too. I want a Ibook this time around, as my first one was dell and my current is an Compaq.
    I like your litter box! We did something similar for the kitties so Indy wouldn’t eat cat poo, we just cut a hole in th elid. Better then buying the 60$ one at petsmart.
    I am completely challenged in anysort of way creatively, but I scored an 83% as well. My fav artists are Monet and Van Gogh. And the random artist at Ikea who painted a Paris street scene in Monet’s style. 🙂

  3. Oh yea.. I say Vegas.. cause there is so much to do if you want or you can spend your time sitting at the pool!

  4. Becuase I am that lazy – I would vote for Vegas since the effort of dealing with going out of the country seems like a tedious task. 🙂 Then again if you want Cancun becuase of the tropical awesomeness but still don’t wanna hassle with passports – Key West is a great option! The puggie litter box is great! Thankfully my little Pedro is doing really well with the housebreaking thing – he only pees ON US when we are home and he is angry with us (which doesn’t happen often).

  5. Aww what a lovely pic of you two! 🙂 The new potty situation looks like a good idea, good luck with that 🙂 Oh and we are in Wales, not England! (I dont care but Jon, my blokey, would!) lots of puggy kisses xxxx

  6. I vote for Cancun, because I am not a big gambler. Are you guys big Disney fans? AB and I LOVE Disney and have been like 3 times since we have been together. We are thinking about sneaking down there after Christmas just for a few days.

  7. Favorite artist: Mark Ryden or Norman Rockwell; two VERY different people with VERY different perceptions!
    What do you do with the Pugs when you go on vacation?

  8. Several things, but first, that is a wonderful pic of you two at Disney World.

    Second, I made your chicken salad last night, and it really is delicious. I may have gone too easy on the spice mix, and I’m going to go heavier the next time.

    Third, I recently bought a light-weight rechargeable floor sweeper called The Shark, which I LOVE! It’s at Target for $29.99. I think it’d work great on puppy litter messes.

  9. Martha; Oh, I’m sorry to hear – was your Chicken slightly bland? Yeah, I go pretty heavy on the spices when I season the chicken becuase I don’t really like spices in my mayo for the chicken salad. Therefore I like highly spiced chicken – Also, I use this chicken for tons of things. Just yesterday I put it in a quick chicken fettuchini alfredo with broccoli pasta I made. Tasty!

  10. This post was indeed a wild ride! Congrats on the new laptop! I’m glad the puggie litterbox is working! Poley looks cute “watering” the litter. maybe he can grow something?

    I’d go for Cancun! Hunt those passports down, pack a bag, get sandals that are easy to take off at the airport because you look so much like a young middle eastern terrorist and get thee to Cancun and have some beachy fun.

    I bought a little cheap recharagable Dirt devil vac for cat litter messes and it is great. You would like any brand, I think, but one you can’t live without one of those things.

  11. Hmmmm, Las Vegas vs. Cancun is a hard choice. I love both, but I guess it depends on what you really want to do. Relax? Cancun. Party and people watch and gamble? Vegas. But I am sure you will have fun whatever you decide!

    Great picture of you two!

  12. Wouldn’t Cancun be really hot during the summer? Of course, there is the ocean, so…? Vegas you could go see Cirque Du Soleil.
    Congrats on the laptop, that is great for you. that is a very sweet picture of terry and Nappy. The litter bos looks really great, Great idea. As for the art test, well, mom says it must because her mom is an artist, but she scored a 100%. She says it is easier if you grow up watching people create art. Oh and btw, the quilt is getting larger.

    Roxy

  13. That picture of Terry and Poley is adorable!

  14. Congratulations on your new baby – I mean computer. hee

    I vote for Cancun. We went to Playa Del Carmen right across from Cancun about 10 years and it was the BEST vacation I’ve ever had. There’s tons to do and the snorkeling was amazing.

    Great pictures! The picture of Terry and Poley is just too cute.

    I think it’s great the litter box is working. I have one of those dirt devil things. i bought it a couple of years ago. When we had finches, I used it all the time. It’s great for picking up little messes.

  15. Cancun or Vegas — both sound like fun! Any good package deals at expedia or travelocity or…?

    The litter box is lookin’ good! Here’s a suggestion for trapping litter — jute or sisal mat for the pups to step out onto as they come out of the litter box. There are litter catchers you can get at pet stores, but an inexpensive doormat can work just as well. The advantage with some of the litter catchers is that you can empty the unused litter back into the pan, instead of just chucking it.

  16. Hey guys! Just wanted to drop by to say we’ve tagged you for a meme. Hope you can play! Just come by our blog to see what it is.

    Happy weekend!

  17. I don’t know how I ever lived without a laptop all this time. I can’t believe you got your dogs trained to crap in a litter box. that’s cool.. I can’t get mine to crap outside..lol. Well, if you come to vegas don’t come out here in August. It’s way too hot.
    Oh, and I scored a 67 on the test.

  18. Your tagged 🙂

  19. your new computer sounds wonderful! i am so excited for you! I love the pictures too. Your pug litterbox is the coolest.
    🙂 melissa

  20. congrats of the new computer! I’m not a fan of that Neely’s how on food network either. I wish they’d move the show off the Saturday morning lineup.
    How’s the tote working out for the litterbox?
    I’ve been to Cancun and it’s fun/nice. I’ve been wanting to go to Vegas (I’ve never been) so that would be my vote so I could live vicariously through you.

  21. Yay for a new laptop! And Vegas vs. Cancun…. hmm. I really want to go to both places!! Have you been to either yet? If so, go to the other place. 🙂 Lol… how helpful was THAT?!

  22. I’ve actually been to both places but Terry hasn’t been to either. I can’t decide!

  23. Congrats on getting the new laptop!! Cancun and Vegas both sound unbelievable! Fun!

Leave a Reply

 
