Poley – Peanuts = Happy Family

Poley misses his peanutsWell, Napoleon is doing great. His surgery went well and he’s pretty much recooperated and doing good. He was a little out-of-it on Saturday (day after surgery) and slept all day long, but now he’s back to his normal self. Here’s  apicture of him looking silly and goofy. He goes back on April 1st to have his stitches removed, but other than that he’s all set for the next year.

This picture was captured while we were playing and his ear is flipped back. So cute! Oh, and his ear mites are all gone…the doctor is pleased with his weight, his growth, this health was perfect, except the vet said he had excessive ear wax, so I was given this ear solution to clean out his ears weekly. Funny. Napoleon has TONS of ear wax and Rukia barely ever has any.

Oh, and thanks to the suggestion of green beans as treats (sorry…can’t remember who suggested it or where I read it). Perfect Puggie TreatI thawed out a bag of them and now we use them as training treats – they’re healthy, they aid in digestion (ruffage) and totally inexpensive. Also, the puggies L-O-V-E them. I highly recommend them to all you dog owners out there! When we went on a walk yesterday, I had a bag of them in my pocket and we used them quite effectively – we’re trying to teach them “heel” but it’s not going that well. As you know…pugs can be quite willful when they don’t want to do something. And they really prefer running crazy wild on the leash. The idea of walking sedately at my side seems to be TOO MUCH for them to comprehend.

Mommy loves RukiHere’s a picture of Ruki and I posing for the camera. Aren’t we hams? I love my little girl and she’s still so small. At her age, Poley was already like 8 lbs. Whereas Rukia is only 5 lbs. I think she’s just going to be smaller than him. However, I have noticed recently that her legs are getting unusually long so I think she’s about to have a growth spurt. Hooray!

In other news, we are still in love with the game “Rockband” and are quite obsessed with it. We were inducted into the Hall of Fame the other day, but now we’re working on completing all the cities in the game for acheivements and also, it’s a lot of fun! It can be challenging at times, but that’s part of the fun and it makes it a game as apposed to a glorified karaoke machine.

And for a parting shot, here is Terry on the couch with the puggies. You can see Poley in his favorite spot (on top of the couch). And Rukia is in her favorite spot – her Daddy’s arms.

Wild and crazy pugs

~ by Nevis on March 25, 2008.

21 Responses to “Poley – Peanuts = Happy Family”

  1. Awww that is so sweet! Indy is a big daddy’s girl as well!
    I am glad Napolean’s surgery went well. The stitch removal will be a breeze. The only issue I had was when I stood Gus up he was nibbling on my ear!!
    The green beans sound like a good idea! My guys love carrots too. I use a peeler to get the long pieces for them. 🙂

  2. I buy giant bags of baby carrots for the pugs, too. I use them in the home made food I make for them, as well as treats. They love them! You just have to be careful HOW MANY carrots you give them as they do have a high sugar content.

  3. Yes it is a rare treat.. they usually get the carrot shavings when i am doing a salad. 🙂

  4. So glad that Napoloen’s surgery went well. Rock band sounds like fun, we will have to check it out.

  5. I am so glad the Poley is feeling all better. I love your family shots! Thanks so much for your nice comments on my blog about my new cards. I will work on getting a listing up this week.
    🙂 melissa

  6. So glad to hear that Poley’s surgery went well!

  7. aw, poley, we hope you feel better and get to eat lots of green beans!

  8. Yay! No more peanuts! No more peanuts! Now you never have to worry about those swingin’ things again!
    Good luck on the stitches removal!
    Love,
    Jemima Jones Beck
    PS: I hate green beans and carrots, you must have two naturally healthy eatin’ pugs!

  9. Glad everything went well with the surgery. That is always nice to be done and over with. Roxy LOVES broccoli. She will eat green beans, peas, carrots,wheat thins, cheese, but broccoli is her favorite.

    Roxy’s mom

  10. so glad all went well, and so glad you got poley’s bidness taken care of. now you don’t have to worry about their “playtime”!

    they’re super cute!

  11. So glad that’s over with. They look so cute.

  12. Yay! Glad that little Poley is recovering well. I love to eat ANYTHING at all, veggies are the greatest! In the summer, I love watermelon, you should try it!
    I weigh 11lbs now (at almost 11 months) and the vet says he does not want to see me weighing any more than that. So maybe Rukia is going to be small like me!
    Love Clover xo
    P.S. Did you package come in the mail yet?! I am so excited for you to receive it!!

  13. Hey! good for Poley! glad he’s recovering nicely from his peanutectomy.

  14. Oh yeah, I posted a picture of Zoe in an Easter basket. Can that count as an entry in the Pug Bowl?

  15. Neither of my boys will eat veggies – Wilson accepts the treat very gingerly, but quickly spits it out and looks for something better. He does love ice cubes though. He can almost roll over for an ice cube!

  16. What a relief for Poley that his surgery is over! Thanks for the advice about the beans — my parents will need to try it.

    Good luck on the obedience training . . . Mommy tried that with me and gave up (what fun is there in following my parents when I can run around like a mad dog?!)

  17. See! y’all are the perfect example of barklove

  18. I’m glad the surgery went well and Poley is back home! Cut puppy love pictures!

    I hope the heeling goes as well! haha

    Rusty

  19. Aw, both those dogs are so adorable. 🙂

  20. HELLO! Glad to hear Poly did alright… just so you know, Ruki ain’t outta the woods yet – afterall I had my little purse emptied and I STILL like to hump my little flower bed. That walking on a leash thing? Yea, Capt’n Daddy tries SO HARD to get me to walk nice with him but I usually win and get him flustered. He does not usually stay “calm and assertive” with me and when he does, I just sit and give him my doofy-doo face and he breaks down in to a fit of giggles. Hey – my momma makes me me homemade biscuits instead of buying them from the store. If you want her to send you some just e-mail me and I will let her know.

  21. Hooray! We’re very pleased that Poley is ok! What sweet piccies! xxxx

Leave a Reply

 
