Haiku Winner!

You won, and all you got was this graphic.Okay, first of all, we have some business to attend to. Today we have the winner of our 1st annual “Manicdote Haiku Contest“. And (drumroll please) the winner is….Ayatollah Mugsy! Congrats!

If you haven’t checked out his website, it’s a hoot and we always love silly Mugsy and Wendall with his freakishly long legs. This is the winning poem, and of course, they can take the graphic to the left of this text to use on their blog (if they desire):

Rawhide, so tasty,
Its sweet scent beckoning me,
I think I’m in love.

And we also chose an “honorable mention“; the haiku by The Aged Cat, because I like the word phantom and you so rarely get a chance to use it. Phantom. Anyways, here is their haiku:

Shadows of felines
lounge on the sofa and bed
phantom comforters.

On the game front, Terry and I have been playing this Army of Twogame called “Army of Two” and we’re loving it. It’s all about playing cooperatively; as a team you work through each objective and slowly earning money that you can use to buy better guns. It’s kind of like a 3rd person shooter with a little bit of RPG thrown in the mix. I’m quite enjoying it. Would I pay $60 for it? No. But I would trade in some old games for it. Or rent it if you’re a quick player. But definatly play it with another human. The A.I. leaves something to be desired.

In other news, I read on the Pug Posse’s blog about adding a tablespoon or so of beef broth to the kibble to soften it up a little and make it more appetizing…and so I gave it a try. Okay, the puggies LOVED it and ate up almost every single little kibblett! Thank-you SO much for this trick!

Napoleon and Rukia thank-you from the bottom of their little pug hearts and we took this photo after dinner. I don’t know why they look suspiciously innocent in it, but I’m not buying it!!!

What? We didn’t do that.

~ by Nevis on March 13, 2008.

10 Responses to “Haiku Winner!”

  1. Thank you; I am honored. I have prepared a short victory speech.

    I would like to thank my parents, for raising me to cherish and respect rawhide. I would like to thank my little brother, Wendell, for inspiring me with his youthful enthusiasm. And last but certainly not least, I would like to thank Allah, without whom none of this would have been possible.

  2. OMD I love that picture of the two babies!! Awwww!

  3. Your little Pugs are so cute. Bless their little Puggly hearts 🙂

  4. Cool! Congrats to Ayatollah Mugsy! Thank you for the honorable mention. (We’re not worthy!)

    If I come home one day with a pug puppy, I’m blamin’ you! Yeah, YOU, Poley, Rukia!

  5. I have the CSI game for xbox 360 but I haven’t played it yet.. the husband leaves sunday so once he is gone I will be a little gamer.
    Haha no problem, INdy was my first dog so I kind of learned the hard way.. feel free to ask anything.. I have already gone through it or pulled it out of her mouth!!
    Gus is somewhat dominant (or so he thinks) over me. He was VERY attached when we first got him.. I couldn’t go to the bathroom by myself. He would get into the laundry basket and (sorry it’s kinda gross) pee on my pants and chew my underwear. Bleh.. you know when you put something in the laundry but you could wear it again? Yea not in my house… well now its ok since I have to keep the door closed. 🙂 I have to try and hook my phone up to the computer to see if anything is till on the memory… so you may get your Gus picks yet!!

  6. Are you on facebook by any chance?

  7. My husband loves the name Napolean. 🙂 I call her Indiana sometimes, but it is more for the Indy Car races.. when we got her we were camping and she spent the whole weekend off leash racing in circles…. 🙂 I can’t wait for the new movie to come out..
    Oh yea.. the collar training is going well.. I don’t think we will ever get the walking nicely thing, but as long he can do everything else.. works for me!

  8. This haiku contest was fun, and we liked reading all the entries! We left something for you on Rusty’s blog.

  9. I love Napoleon’s and Rukia’s picture…..adorable!

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  10. great writing!

    Haiku Contest Open- visit: http://lyricalpassionpoetry.page.tl

    -The Editors

Leave a Reply

 
