Ikea Family

Ikea AtlantaSo we drove up to Atlanta on Saturday to go to IKEA. I’ve been there a million times but Terry had never been. Well, we had a blast. If you’ve ever been, you know it’s like…a whole day thing because that place really sucks you in. Especially if you’re going with an Ikea virgin. There are all the cool rooms to oooh-and-ahhh over in the showroom, then the vast marketplace below it, and finally the warehouse to pick up any large items that you need to get.

We actually stayed there so long that we had to stop at the food court to eat lunch. Surprisingly tasty, too. And for some reason, I took pictures of this. And now you get to look at them. Please, contain your enthusiasm.

Hungry enough to enjoy Ikea food

Here is a close up of our lunch, a buffalo chicken wrap. Yum!

Buffalo Chicken Wrap

And then afterwards we attacked some Swedish chocolate. Well, Terry attacked it.

Terry is part polar bear

I ate it daintily. See? Dainty.

Mmm…chocolate…

Then I was amazed by the cool art by the bathroom wall. Yes, I took pictures in front of the bathroom. Don’t judge me!

To pee or not to pee?

And, of couse, here is Terry enjoying a Mt. Dew after all that shopping. And yes, we had two carts worth. Ikea sucks you in with it’s cheap prices because everything is like $1.99…so you keep picking up things thinking, ‘Wow, this is so cheap!’ and by the time you get to the register you’ve bought $200 worth of stuff.

Super Terry!

And of course, here are some gratuitous pug shots:

We are Siamese if you please

We are Siamese if you don’t please

There is no finer pug than I am!

~ by Nevis on March 11, 2008.

13 Responses to “Ikea Family”

  1. I miss IKEA. It looks like a fun day. Thanks for the pug shots, i needed a fix. Rukia is getting so big and Poley is too!

  2. I’ve never been to IKEA either. Nexttime we go to Atlanta, I’ll have to remember to go there. I love their stuff.
    Oh, love the pug pics!

  3. Haha I totally agree.. it’s like costco.. you think you are getting such great deals and the prices are good and then wham.. 300$ to leave! :p

  4. I love IKEA, even though I’ve never been. I just like the idea of it. Jonathan Coulton, of recent Portal “Still Alive” fame, has a song about IKEA you may like – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyeynCnXMoo

  5. I’ve never been there, either. But, I don’t think Rob will let me go since he knows there is a good chance I won’t come out!

  6. IKEA is a fun day out…the puggies are looking so cute! Did they like what you brought home?

  7. OMG! Another thing we have in common! I LOVE IKEA! It is a vacation destination for us. We do not have one in Colorado. How can that be? Everytime a new pad site is developed i say to Fred, “Maybe it will be an IKEA.” We go to IKEA whenever we go to San Diego. It is just part of our trip! 🙂 Your puggies always make my day!
    Melissa

  8. I’ve never been to an IKEA, don’t even know if there are any around. Sounds like my kind of place, though. The pictures you took were lots of fun! Thumbs up to clearing your own table. Oh, I guess that was to how goog the wrap was. 🙂 The gratuitous pug shots were welcome! I love them.

  9. Oh! The Pugs are looking cuter and cuter every day (but, you know, like, not as cute as me, or anything).
    Mom says that she has never been to an ikea (but she gets the catalogue), and that we can’t get their stuff out here, and that she is bummed by that. So enjoy the ikea wonderfulness!
    Love,
    Jemima Jones Beck

  10. Now that sounds like a day well spent. I’ve never been to an Ikea store but will definitely have to go soon. The pugs are growing and so cute.

  11. LOVE LOVE LOVE IKEA. Hence, IKEA Li Mei Fun. Or as you all know her, Kiki. Anyway, your puggies are getting so big! Ooh, next time I come down to ATL for IKEA we’ll have to meet up!

  12. OOOO I love Ikea, i work right near one, so sometimes we pop in for some sweedish meatballs 🙂 the furniture there is so nice and i love the cute little things they have in the baskets as you walk around 🙂 xxx

  13. You can so get sucked into Ikea. We drove from Columbia to Atlanta on Sunday to exchange a bookshelf and ended up spending even more $$$. I love Ikea! Next time try the Swedish meatballs and the cinnamon buns! YUM!

    And your pugs are so cute!!

Leave a Reply

 
