Snow Day

Guess what happened on Saturday? It snowed! Can you believe that? I mean, I live in Alabama! Aparently, from talking to the locals, this is the first time in like 20 years that it’s snowed like this. We got 4 inches! Isn’t that crazy!? Check out this video that Terry shot earlier today:

Isn’t that amazing? I’m from California…it just doesn’t snow in Los Angeles so this is completely forgien to me. But I loved it! Here are some pictures we took while we frolicked outside with Poley. This first picture is of me (Alabama Snow Bunny) ouside in the snow:

Snowbunny

This picture is of Terry (Alabama Snow Jackrabbit) ouside in the snow. I have no idea why he posed looking so smug. Men!

Snow Jackrabbit

Here is my car, a Honda Element, look at it! It’s covered in snow!

Snowy Element

Then we put Poley onto the roof of car to see what he thought of the snow. He was not amused.

Poley loves Snow….Not!

Here is Terry holding Napoloeon:

Snow Dad

And a close up of Poley. So cute! Look at him, he’s lost alot of hist darker baby-fur and is lightening up. My baby is growing up!

I’m ready for my close-up

OH! And I have to thank all of you for your ideas regarding Napoleon’s food dish. Armed with all of your ideas, we marched to Petco and spent quite a while going over the food isle. From what everyone said, I was pretty sure that the reason Poley wasn’t eating his food was because he didn’t like it. Pugs, and well, dogs in general, don’t just toss the food on the ground and ignore it completely if they liked it. I was somewhat discouraged by this because on paper, the Natural Balance food was the best. It was made of the best ingredients, had three kinds of protien, no filler, veggies, fiber, etc. But what good is all that if he won’t eat it? So after reading all the lables on about 6 different foods, we settled on the Iams puppy food for toy breeds.

We also bought a new bowl for him since it was suggested that possibly his ceramic bowl wasn’t easy for him to eat out of. We bought one of those stainless steel bowls that is a metal rack and has two bowls (food & water) suspended from it. And guess what? Not only is he eating every bite of his food, but he’s not spilling his water all over the place and certainly isn’t dumping his food onto the floor and ignoring it. Hooray! Thanks everyone! Oh, and Napoleon thanks you, too!

Guard! I want seconds…!

~ by Nevis on January 21, 2008.

14 Responses to “Snow Day”

  1. Snow, snow … so now everywhere it’s snow. Superb glimpses of pictures there. You are blessed, your dog is blessed, your ca is blessed, all are blessed with snow. Life is wonderful, so is the snow fall!

  2. Wow, that’s cool! It “snowed” here Friday afternoon, but it just melted as soon as it touched anything. I wish I could romp with Poley in the snow! By the way, you can get Poley an Alabama license plate at that place!

  3. Woo! Snow! Hope you are enjoying it! If it is still around. Good to hear that Napoleon got some food that he loves! He looks super cute and grown up in those pics!

  4. Looks like you all had a lot of fun with the snow. We’re due to get some tomorrow, maybe. So Poley didn’t like the snow? Glad he’s got food he likes and the bowl situation’s more to his liking.

  5. Oooo! Snow! It looks so pretty there! We are also pleased to hear that Poley’s food bowl and new food is working out very well! Daisy thinks Poley is very handsome! hehehe!

    Love Livvy, Weeny and Daisy xx xx

  6. Oh and by the way, mummy said you are lucky that Terry even posed for a pic, our daddy hates pictures of him being taken!!
    Love Weeny and Daisy xx xx

  7. Glad you enjoyed the snow! Living here in Canada we are used to a few feet a year:( No snow would be an awesome novelty for us in January!

    Pyrite is happy the Poley has food that he likes and a new bowl. She just finished scarfing down her supper and was shocked to hear that he didn’t eat his food right up. She said a full bowl never stays that way around this house!

    Cheers

  8. I think what happened in that picture is that I distracted Poley while he was eating by coming over to photograph him. Trust me – as soon as I stood up and walked away, he went back to scarfing down his breakfast.

  9. Hey, Poley and I could by siblings separated at birth. . . my parents have a Honda Element, I don’t like snow, and when I was a puppy, I had the EXACT same metal food bowls!! But I have since graduated to bigger food bowls as I am grown-up pug now.

  10. Hey Nevis, you won my blogiversary drawing!! (Contain your excitement!) I can mail you the candle this week, but I just need the address you’d like me to mail it to….email me at pagecole@bellsouth.net. Congrats! And glad to hear Napoleon is eating all his food!

  11. Poley is so cute! I am glad he likes his new food and dishes. The snow pictures are great fun!
    It is so fun to see Poley grow up. Thanks for sharing!
    🙂 Melissa

  12. How cool is that!! I can’t remember the last time we’ve seen snow and you are even south of me! Oh well, we got freezing rain today so maybe that is as close as we will get. lol!

  13. I grew up in Texas. It snowed once and everyone freaked out. It was awesome. Now I live up north where snow is not uncommon. And people still freak out.

  14. Welcome to a peek into our world here in New England! Now Nappy can make Yellow Pee Like Willow,Belle and Turbo! LOL

Leave a Reply

 
