As Good As It Gets

He-ManHappy Saturday! I love Saturday’s because there is this wonderful feeling in the air. It’s like a slight kiss of the emotion you used to get on Christmas morning as a child, or that urgency as a child to rush to the living room to watch cartoons on Saturday morning. This was, of course, back before we had networks tha showed cartoons 24/7. When I was a kid (and had to walk uphill to school in the snow both ways), we only had Cartoons on Saturday morning and those were cartoons. We had He-Man and She-Ra. The Smurfs. Thundercats. Transformers. Scooby-Doo. Man, those were the best.

Where was I? Oh yeah, I got up this morning and fed Poley, then we chilled out on the couch and watched some cooking shows. I had to bathe him because we were going to go to the Vet today (his first time since being with me) and I didn’t want the vet to think I let him run around like a stinky pug. I usually wash him weekly, so he was due anyways. To make a long story short, I used this new shampoo/conditioner that the wonderful people over at Owned by Pugs.com told me about. It’s called “Groomax Spa Dog Shampoo/Conditioners” and I bought it in the Banana scent. It smells wonderful and Napoleon is now running around smelling like a ripe banana rather than ripe cheese. Definatly an improvement.

The vets office was pretty cool. The people were really nice, not only the Doc Oc or sometimes Octopussystaff but the other people waiting. I even met this nice lady who also had a pug and Poley got to sniff butts with another one of his kind, who wasn’t related to him. He wasn’t that impressed, he just kept climbing back into my lap. Nevertheless, I was slightly put out becuase the only vet that’s open on Saturdays doesn’t take appointments – it’s walk-in’s only. So when I got there two of their three vets were in an emergency surgery and I had to wait for about two hours. They told me I could leave Poley and come pick him back up in a few hours but I didn’t want to do that. He’s only 9 weeks old and this is 2nd set of shots – his first with me and this vet and I wanted to be there for the exam. So I waited. And waited. And waited. Two hours later I finally met with the vet.

Well, Dr. Hunt was very nice and funny. He examined Poley and talked to me about some special care for Pugs (that they can’t take heat & humidity – that I would need to keep him indoors and leave air conditioning on). I assured him that I had fully reasearched the breed and that I would take care of him. We talked about nutrition and he stated that I was doing all the right things. Then he gave Poley his 2nd set of shots and gave me some supplimental chewable vitamens for me to give him daily.  Then, get this – he told me that Napoleon weighed 4 1/2 lbs and was the “perfect” example of a pug at his age. Woot! Perfect! You hear that, Westminster? Eat your heart out!!! Burn!

Gangsta Terry and Lil’ PoleyOh, and today’s pictures are of Napoleon’s favorite toys. There is his 2nd favoriate toy, Sir Elephante (which you see in Terry’s gangsta picture of himself, Poley and Sir Elephante) and his new favorite toy, Doc Oc or occasially we call it Octopussy (which is an awesome pink octopus toy that has a squeaky head and crinkly-sounding tenticles). HE LOVES THIS TOY! It’s made by the same people who make Beanie Babies and it’s also holding up remarkably well with all his chewing, tugging, attacking, etc. I highly recommend it for your pugs. 🙂

Oh, and lately he’s taken to doing this thing where he sits between my arms when I’m typing on my laptop and does this adorable thing that looks like he’s pantomiming my typing actions. It’s ridiculously cute and I’ll try and have Terry record it so I can show you.

Then, for the rest of the night, we’re going to go get some authentic fried chicken from the best country cooking restaurant around these parts, a restaurant that everyone calls “truck stop” because, well, it’s a restaurant inside a truck stop and it’s always thick with truckers. The food is amazing. Later tonight BobbleheadI’m going to play some Gears of War, because I adore that game and haven’t played it in ages. So that’s my day, it’s been a wonderful Saturday. As Good As it Gets.

In a completely unrelated topic, does anyone else think that Giada De Laurentiis has an INSANELY large head? Seriously, she’s like a walking, talking bobble-head. It’s crazy! Check out this picture of her. I keep expecting her to tip over.

~ by Nevis on January 12, 2008.

18 Responses to “As Good As It Gets”

  1. We have octopussy too!! The girls love it!

    Glad to hear the vet appointment went well.

    I loved those cartoons too – now we just watch Teen Titans and Legion of Superheroes – not much else exciting

  2. YAY! SHE-RAH Princess of powerrr! I used to love those cartoons! (Who am i kidding? I STILL Love them!)

    We are so glad the vet appointment went ok, its just a shame you had to wait such a long time!

    We love the gangsta pic of poley and his toy! hehe!

    Love Weeny,Daisy and Livvy xx xx

  3. Ohh we forgot to say, we cant wait to see a video of poley “typing” hehehe!

  4. Hehe! Well you both deserve it! (For putting up with chinese sweater torture!) Thanks for being a good friend to us and our mummy! xxxxx Love Weeny and Daisy xx xx

  5. Our Mommy grew up in that age of walking uphill both ways to school and she loved scooby doo and the flintstones.

    Poley gets cuter by the day. We can see that you really are enjoying him. 4 pounds, wow, I can’t remember Zoe being that small.

    Love, Seadra, Zoe and Mom Jessica

  6. When my mom was a kid the cartoons were Popeye, Bugs Bunny, Huckleberry Hound, Mighty Mouse, you know, the really OLD ones.

    We cant wait to see Poley typing, that is cute.

    I have something for you on my blog.

  7. You are so right! Giada has a gigantic head and little body. We call her “bighead” (no joke). I still think she’s gorgeous though.

  8. Here’s how old I am: The Banana Splits, H.R. Puff’n’Stuff, Josie and the Pussycats, Scooby (of course!), Fat Albert (“hey-hey-hey!”), Jackson 5, . . . good times! Good for you for wanting to stay with Poley for his vet appointments. He’s still just a pup after all!

  9. All the cartoons they have on now suck! I don’t blame you for not leaving Napoleon at the vet, there is not way! I’m glad his 2nd check up went well. We sure is a cutie pie.

  10. Thanbks for stopping by and saying hello! I love finding new blogs.
    lol! I’ve always thought Giada has a big head. Alas, she does cook some amazing food.

  11. Poley is PERFECTLY adorable! Thanks for the internet sites on flying with dogs — they were immensely helpful.

  12. Congrats on the good report for Poley. Every time I see him I start laughing because he is so unbelievably cute.
    Scooby Doo was my favorite. I also watch all the cooking shows on Saturday mornings. Barefoot Contessa is my favorite.

  13. We used to get the cartoons on Sunday evening !He man and Spiderman!

  14. Poley definitely is perfect! He is a beautiful pug!
    I loved Saturday morning cartoons too! Your post brought back good memories and made me smile.
    🙂 Melissa

  15. I remember Saturdays filled with my kids watching. Gah, I’m old! LOL I can’t believe that’s how the vet is…that is nuts. I guess that’s the trade off for actually being open on Saturdays? Still seems odd.

  16. I remember those cartoons…I was a smurf girl myself. A little nerdy, I know. Anyhow, glad to hear Napoleon is so healthy and happy!! Can’t wait to see video!

  17. Oh my gosh, You Napoleon is so freakin’ cute!

  18. Thank you! She does have a huge head. I’ve said it all along. Cicky reminds me of her, but with a normal head.

Leave a Reply

 
