Bathtime for Puggies

Oh no! Clipping toenails!Gave my fat little puggie, Napoleon, his weekly bath. First – we started off with trimming his nails, which grow extraordinary fast. He is usually surprisingly well behaved during this process. I mean, he doesn’t love it or anything, but he usually submits and lets me do it. I have done it three times now and have only cut him “to the quick” once and he bleed a little bit but he was a brave boy and didn’t whine or fuss at all. I was very proud of him.

Then I put a small towel in the kitchen sink and filled it up part of the way with warm water. I soaped him up with puppy shampoo that smells Not sure about this bath thing…like baby powder and then I used some of my (human) Pantene conditioner on him because I was too cheap to buy him dog-conditioner. I’ll eventually break down and buy some, but buying the puppy and then all the various accoutremonts that went along with purchasing a puppy was like $300. So well, I’m trying to cut a corners a little bit if possible. And isn’t human conditioner  pretty much the same thing as dog conditioner? Anyways, I lathered him up and then rinsed him off. He’s grown to where he rather enjoys the warm water and he splashes around in it.

Poley diggin’ the bathAfter the shower came the DREADED blow dryer. He is quite afraid of it and whines and whimpers and trys to run away from it. I had to have Terry hold him down so that I could blow dry him properly. I felt kinda bad about it, but it had to be done. I didn’t want a sopping wet pug prancing around the house!

Then afterwards we watched some Food Network Drowned rat or Napoleon?(Tyler’s Ultimate) and chilled out on the couch, the incident with the blow dryer quickly forgotten when presented with a treat for good behavior and being able to sit on his father’s chest and have his picture taken. Such a good boy!

Poley chillin’ with his Papa

~ by Nevis on January 7, 2008.

12 Responses to “Bathtime for Puggies”

  1. Baths are key to keeping my shedding to a minimum. Since I started getting regular baths I don’t leave thousands of hairs all over the house!

  2. SUCH a cute little pug. Love it!

  3. Oh my goodness he is such a little man:)

  4. Thanks for stopping by our blog! Little Napoleon is adorable! Watch out when Pugs get wet they multiply!!! That’s how we ended up with 4!!!!

  5. There is nothing softer than a freshly bathed pug. Or wilder, in my experience.

  6. Oh my gosh would you look at that sweeeeet little face?!?! You’re lucky he lets you clip his nails. My Kiki fights us like a ticked off octopus!

  7. Aww Poley! You were such a good boy! We bet you look and smell lovely now! Mummy said to tell you that we do have weekly showers but it still hasnt helped with the shedding! Ah well!

    Love Weeny and Daisy xx xx

  8. Nothing is better than a fresh smelling Pug!

  9. He is so cute I can’t stand it. I can’t trim our Chihuahuas nails—they won’t let us (looks away embarrassed). We have to take them to the groomer.

  10. Pug nails are so tricky…darn the dark nails!

  11. Hi! Napoleon is soooo cute! I love all of your pictures and stories about him. Thanks so much for leaving a comment on my blog. It is so nice to meet you.
    Melissa and Emmitt

  12. Hi Napoleon! thanks fur sniffing over today you wittle cutie pie. Baths are good but yous gotta stop your mommy from cutting your nails so often, that way she won’t cut the quik. that serious pain huh? we have black nails too & they grow fast but to avoid cutting too close mommy only cuts us once a month. we jus wanna lick you up! but we’ll jus send love licks & waggin TX tails oh & we won’t bark so yous don’t get scared, k?

Leave a Reply

 
