Simply Having A Wonderful Christmas Time

Hi there old friends! (…and new ones too!) I know it has been quite a while since I got a chance to post so I thought I would talk a little bit about some of the games I am currently playing.

Assassin’s Creed: I really liked this game. The gameplay did get a little bit repetitive as some have complained but I felt it was fun. The game would have benefited with more variety in the sub-missions, but what some people missed was that you didn’t have to do all of the investigations. I think having a feature to jump straight to the Assassination Bureaus when you reenter a town would have been great.

A lot of people have complained about the combat. Personally I loved it. If you are good at timing then it will be a breeze, if not then it will be pretty hard. The storyline was great to me. It is a hard thing to have religon figure into a video game story and have it not come off as trite or stupid.

It was also very fun to grab guards and toss them off building into crowds and listen to the screams. Please don’t tell Jack Thomson I said that. Another fun thing was making up your own missions. I would lock my targeting on a random passerby and follow them for a time and asassinate them. I also liked grabing the mentally challenged drunk people and smacking them around.

Mass Effect: WOW! I have really got into this game. When I first got it I went hog wild playing it. While some of the comments that it is not as big a change from previous Bioware games does hold water I feel that it refines everything they have become known for in RPGs. It has a great story that gives you the chance to actually be a character. Instead of choosing between being a “good” or a “bad” guy you choose to bascially be a “nice/honorable” character or an “ass” and even somewhere inbetween.

The only thing I don’t like about this game is the “elevator loading” that comes up. I didn’t mind it so much in the Citadel but when you have to go though that same one on your ship just to go to your onship store then it gets annoying. I should at least be able to dick around and hump some of the girls in the elevator instead of just standing there.

Smackdown 2008: Mock me if you must but this has been a long time favorite series of mine. Unfortunatly I feel this year’s installment is fairly weak. A lot of this is due to the WWE facing hard times. I don’t really watch WWE anymore so some of the characters are lost on me. The days of greats like The Rock, Steve Austin, and my other favorites are gone. The gameplay is good but at this point the menu system is too archaic. I also felt that having to deal with injuries was more of a pain and did not add much to the overall game mechanics.

 Well that is just a little bit of what I have been playing. I still have Call of Duty 4 to finish so be looking for me to talk about that soon.

~ by vanredd on December 10, 2007.

2 Responses to “Simply Having A Wonderful Christmas Time”

  1. Silly rabbit….You forgot to mention how that you’re having a wonderful Christmastime because of your wonderful FIANCE and, of course, possibly getting a PUPPPY! 😉

  2. I was dying for Assassin’s creed to come out, and it could have been sooooo much better! The same 3 damn side missions over and over and over and over? Come on, does it take that much to program in some more? And stealth? Blah! I don’t think I “needed” to walk slow ever at all. But otherwise very pretty. Bad ending.

Leave a Reply

 
