Road Trip to Alabama – Day Two

Yo Quiero Van ReddTexas 

The miles speed by with indecent slowness. It’s hard to sit still; I want to just be there, be with Terry. As I gaze outside the window, I’m alternately surprised and not-surprised. People always say that things in Texas always come “Texas-Sized”…but I never really knew what that meant until I spent 1 ½ days driving through the state.  

One thing that impressed me about Texas is actually the varied terrain outside the window of my speeding Honda Element. In El Paso, where we entered the state on it’s western border, it is barren and dry. As the miles pass by, we passed honky-tonk after cattle ranches. Western Texas is exactly how I pictured it. But as we made it to the Dallas / Ft. Worth area, and beyond towards the Eastern border, the landscape starts to get greener; trees thrusting upwards full of vigor and leafy green happiness. I am getting excited because it is starting to look more like the south.  

I wouldn’t have believed if asked that I was still in Texas. It just didn’t look like what you’d expect…although I’m not sure what I was expecting. I can’t wait until I see Terry – hopefully it’s tomorrow!

~ by Nevis on October 2, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
