Road Trip to Alabama – Day One

Las Cruces, New Mexico California, Arizona & New Mexico 

Today I woke up at 7am, finished loading up my Honda Element and headed out. Traffic was really light – actually I don’t think we had any traffic except possibly around Tucson where there was some road construction going on. We drove about 750 miles today; our journey began in San Marcos, California and we ended up stopping tonight in Las Cruces, New Mexico.  

We rolled into town a little late, so we weren’t able to eat at any cool local dives – ended up having to eat at a Dairy Queen, but that was still kind of cool for me, since I’ve never been to one. Has anyone ever had one of these “Blizzard” things? That was awesome!  

The day went quickly; we are listening to Deathly Hollows on CD and that really helps the time pass quickly – you don’t even notice the time. You’re listening to the story, caught up in the lives of Harry, Ron and Hermione – and you’re watching the terrain go by. I’ve never traveled cross country via a car and it’s very interesting to watch the differences in the states.  

Well, I have to report – so far I haven’t noticed TOO much difference. Southern California, Arizona & New Mexico all look very similar. I admit I’m slightly disappointed, but I did somewhat expect it.  

I miss my Xbox! Oh, Master Chief, what will I do without you?

~ by Nevis on October 1, 2007.

5 Responses to “Road Trip to Alabama – Day One”

  1. Sounds like a pretty good journey. Your first road trip is always the most exciting. I’m traveling across the country myself–right now I am in the North East. I don’t have a car, just hiking and hitching and seeing where it all leads. Do you mind exchanging blog links. I’ll put yours up on my blog roll if you put mine on yours.

  2. Southern California and Arizona do look similiar. New Mexico is dryer and more arid. wait til you cross the desert to reach Boca Raton, NM. that’s just open barreness compared to those two states

  3. Sounds like you guys are having fun. I find myself getting really excited the closer you get. I hope you take a lot of pictures as they will make for some great memories.

  4. We all know you made it Nevis, now we the people demand pictures of you and his Van Reddness together at last!

  5. Seriously Nev. We demand updates! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
