Heirloom Tomatoes

Today my Mom came up to Los Angeles (she lives in San Diego) and helped me pack. I admit, I really needed her help. It’s so hard to pack by yourself…having someone around keeps you motivated and she was very energetic – helping me Heirloom Tomato Bisqueput things away and organizing things. Now I feel very motivated to get a lot done this week while I’m by myself.  

After we spent most of the day packing, we went and treated ourselves to a delicious dinner at one of my favorite restaurants, French 75 Bistro. Here is a picture of the Heirloom Tomato Bisque that I had as my first course. It was…the most delicious soup I’ve ever had. I then followed that course with a herb roasted chicken with pomme frites, and the dessert was a Tahitian vanilla crème brûlée. The meal was delicious and the company was wonderful.

After eating that wonderful soup made out of Heirloom tomatoes, I looked them up on the internet for more information on the tomatoes. What exactly is an Heirloom tomato, you ask? An heirloom tomato is an open-pollinated (non-hybrid) cultivar of tomato. Heirloom tomatoes have become increasingly popular and more readily available in recent years. Here is a really cool picture of some of the most popular varieties of tomatoes:

Heirloom Tomatoes

Here is a picture of a hand-made card that I recently Children are little monkeys!sent Van. It was a card that I sent him telling him “Good Luck” for the beginning of his school year, and that I completely have faith in his ability to teach these kids that have been entrusted in his care.

Blerg…it’s Sunday night…this means I have to go to work tomorrow. BUT this will be my last week having to see Bruce, so…that ain’t so bad after all! I am really trying to clean up my accounts and get my entire desk orderly and easy for my replacement to pick up. I know I am leaving, but I have a lot of integrity about the work that I do and I want things to be orderly after I’ve left. I hope my coworkers appreciate that!

*sigh* Yikes! In less than two weeks…right now…I’ll be in Van’s arms! I can’t wait! It’s almost like a dream sometimes…A very wonderful dream.

~ by Nevis on September 23, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
