Take This Job and Shove it

Well, I did it. I just handed in my letter of resignation. I didn’t get the satisfaction of handing it straight to Bruce; but that was my own doing because I didn’t exactly trust myself to do that. I didn’t want to say something that I would regret like, “You’re an Take This Job & Shove Itasshat and I’m leaving because of you, fool!” No, I didn’t want to do that. I want to leave with grace and elegance. Besides, it’s never a good idea to burn bridges. So I went to Bruce’s boss, Nancy, and resigned to her, and let her tell Bruce.  

I know he knows, but he hasn’t said anything to me yet. That’s fine. I really just want to keep working in peace, do my time (2 weeks) and then leave peacefully. I do hope to go out with some of my friends here for lunch and say goodbye to everyone – because I will miss a lot of these people. I’ve worked here for 10 years and I will miss the place.  

But, I’m happy that it’s over. I feel like a chapter in my life is coming to an end, I am happy and looking towards to the future.

As the venerable Ben Kenobi once said, “You’ve taken your first step into a larger world.”

~ by Nevis on September 17, 2007.

5 Responses to “Take This Job and Shove it”

  1. Hell yeah Nevis! Don’t take any crap from “the man”. Congrats on the the upcoming move.

  2. nice work! best o’ luck to ya

  3. Well done, Kitt! I think that ‘Bama is pretty cool.Much better than LA. DO keep us updated. I love your blog.
    Ranger Ted

  4. Congrats! I can’t wait to hand in my notice at my current part-time job and seek proper full-time employment. I think four years is a respectable time spent enduring the delights of a supermarket given that it was only meant to hold me over until i graduated from Uni.

    What does the future hold then?

  5. You should have just head-locked Bruce and told him that was the sound of inevitability. Nice word that as it has “nev” in it.

Leave a Reply

 
